We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only my home is further West.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheen Falls Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheen Falls Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only my home is further West.”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a remarkable place with the charm and warmth of the West of Ireland. When you get there, enjoy Kenmare. Don't drive around the Ring of Kerry, Beara, or be tempted to go to Caherciveen. Instead, look at the sea. Walk.

In June, I rented Little Hay Cottage and the other one that is next to it.

I invited friends. We had the greatest time. We ate together and talked. And fished.

I can't imagine a better place to stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    161
    77
    39
    12
See reviews for
204
478
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Kerry
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just had a lovely stay at this hotel. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. I liked the overall old style antique decor of the whole place. Service was good and nothing seemed to be too much trouble to the staff. Without being over negative, I did think the food was overpriced for what it actually was. A club sandwich (glorified toasted sandwich) was E16! with very poor presentation. You would expect more for a 5*. The food in La Cascade was nice. Starter very good, main a bit on the cold side (and Im a quick eater), dessert was the highlight. a bit pricy at E65 though. Breakfast was good also, with a great selection.Pool are nice but tiny. Overall, It was an enjoyable stay, although Im not convinced about the 5* status.I didnt find any wow factor.

Room Tip: River view and 3rd (top) floor for a quiet nights sleep and maximum views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We've experienced Sheen Falls on numerous occasions and the experience is alway, always first rate.
The setting (the Falls, Kenmare Bay, the grounds) is gorgeous. Service from the time you check in until the moment you check out is unfailingly courteous, reponsive and gracious. Meals are special: farm-to-table, gourmet and creative. The wine cellar is indeed special, and the bar + setting = delightful repartee with worldly guests. It's also a very good location from which to explore Killarney and Cork.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We made our latest trip to Kenmare and enjoyed the warm hospitality and high standards of service and fare, once again we could not fault this hotel. The weather was less than splendid but Sheen Falls were impressive in full flood. We are hooked on this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moate, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is quite simply one of the best I have ever visited. Service was first class, there was a problem with the hot water in the room and ther was no problem changing our room, it was done and dusted in 10 mins.
Location is simply beautiful, the river at the back of the hotel adds to the remote feel of the hotel even though its only a mile from Kenmare.
I could not find fault with the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Sheen falls lodge is by far the best hotel I have ever been to.Set in the stunning countryside in kenmare and just a short walk or drive from the absoulutely beautiful town of kenmare! The staff are great it is VERY clean the rooms are big and spacious! and a gigantic bathroom with 2 sinks and probarbly the nicest bath I have seen in a long time. They have a lovely restaraunt and there is a long list of activities (clay pigeon shoting, horse riding,tennis,lovely walks and the list goes on!) You walk in to the most beatiful interior and a turf fire and the staff are ever so helpful!! You will never see the views like you will see there I have nothing but praise for this hotel I would highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have visited Sheen Falls on many occasion, staying for Christmas, Easter and other times of the year. My last visit my sisters and I stayed in the Lansdowne Suite in the hotel. the visit, as always, was super. The hotel, restaurant, lounge and all facilites are superb. I have booked again for Christmas this year and am really looking forward to this special time with family. If you get a chance and you are in Kenmare you should really try and stay here. Superb.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeraaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,994 reviews
13.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheen Falls Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheen Falls Lodge

Property: Sheen Falls Lodge
Address: Sheen Falls Estate | Old Kenmare, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheen Falls Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovingly Restored Country Lodge dating from 1765, overlooking Kenmare Bay & Sheen River Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheen Falls Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheen Falls Kenmare
Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing