We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouthwatering food, gorgeous surroundings and Bart too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sailors Bar

The Sailors Bar
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sailors Bar is located just three miles from the picturesque town of Kenmare on the Castletownbere Road (R571). Come and experience a traditional Irish Bar coupled with great food. We have extensive outdoor seating overlooking the beautiful Kenmare Bay. All tastes catered for, seafood & steaks a speciality. A favourite spot with the locals....
West Lothian, by Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering food, gorgeous surroundings and Bart too!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just returned from our second meal of the week at the increasingly popular Sailors Bar. Visiting from the Scottish Borders. Looked into this establishment over a decade ago for drinks only. Superior to many of the meals we sampled in the town itself. Attentive service, delicious food and marvellous conviviality. I told the family I will return -first and foremost for the great quality food and hopefully to listen to the amazing lilting voice of the wonderful Bart. Thanks to you all.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolinascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Sailors Bar Kenmare and we mean it.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have recently returned from Kenmare, Co Kerry where we holiday every year. We went to the Sailors Bar, for our dinner one evening as we had discovered last year it was fabulous. Upon entering we were created by Barty the owner who remembered us, with a big warm welcome. We had a good chat with him,and he was delighted to see us.

The food was delicious as usual, and we went back another night, even though he was busy he still found time to come over and chat and it is lovely to see that Cead Mile Failte still exists in some parts of the country. So if taking a trip to Kenmare Co Kerry, the Sailors Bar is a must, and tell Barty , Pat sent you. Yum yum is all I can say. Pat, Kevin and Mabel,22nd to 29th June 2013

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carraigmacogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Can We Do Six Stars?”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Sailor's Bar is just down the hill from a cottage we're renting. Based on other reviews we decided to take a few friends who are also foodies and have dinner in the bar. I had called in advance and asked if it was a problem to have a table for six as I knew it was a small room and that they were having music that night. They told me that it was not necessary. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and they had a table reserved for us.
We ran the gamut of dishes. I had the fish and chips, the rest had the smoked salmon and brown bread. the mussels, the seafood platter and the goat cheese salad. The food was first class, the beer was fresh, the music was good and the overall experience was six stars!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank paulkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
225 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Delicious food, warm Irish ambience, good craic, sheep watching us eat!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ate at the Sailors Bar one evening while staying in a vacation cottage nearby. While the drive there was a little scary for us Americans, it was more than worth it. We were there on a windy evening and said we wanted to eat on the outdoor porch. The friendly young woman who greeted us, said to try and if we were cold, they would move our meal inside. Just a few minutes later our server came in a closed all the windows, making us quite snug. Our dinners were absolutely terrific and a great value. My husband and I had the fish and chips and our daughter had a steak sandwich. The server explained that Irish beef is grass fed, and thus tougher than American beef, but the flavor is better....my daughter found this to be absolutely true. Our fish was very fresh and made perfectly. While coming in and out to serve us, the waiter carried on a friendly conversation with us, answering many questions about Ireland and its farms and environment. What made the evening just the most fun, were the sheep in the adjoining pasture watching us at our meal! Rural Ireland at its best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiefromCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, nice people!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very good food, extremely nice people. Nice ambiance. They have a great menu and always fresh seafood. On tuesday there's really nice music!!! It's an absolutely must if you near Kenmare!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_O_Dune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sailors Bar also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Sailors Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing