We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Avelow House
Nearby Hotels
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort(Kenmare)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$372
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casey's Hotel(Glengarriff)
$112
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
78
13
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb broom was cleanring of kerrybreakfasts were greatperfect hostsshort walkbrown breadplace to staymelaniepattownirelandhousekillarneyluggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pat is a warm gentleman who likes people and gives them a warm welcome at the door. His B&B is very well kept: the rooms are clean and comfortable, sleeping in them is very restful. We appreciated his generosity at breakfast, complete with soft music and light and attentive conversation. Needless to say we left smiling but a little sad from having to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I just finished my (unfortunately) short stay with Pat at Avelow House B & B. It was a WONDERFUL place to stay and I'm not sure how this place isn't number one in Kenmare. When we first arrived, he was expecting us and even greeting us my our names. He showed us to our room (room #3), which was at the front of the property (great views of the surrounding area). After that, he made fresh tea & biscuits for us; this was followed by a map of the area and hints on things to do in the area (and told us to go have a few pints). When we came back afterward (approximately 11 pm, possibly 11:30 pm) he was up and asked us what we would like for breakfast (we both ordered traditional Irish breakfast).

We were supposed to go to Skelling the next morning, but the weather didn't cooperate--Pat was more upset than I was (he let us use his house phone to call to see if the trip was on or not). Breakfast was made fresh by Pat and he kept asking if we wanted more.

The rooms are nicely appointed with comfortable beds. The towels are SO soft & fluffy and there are small heaters in the en suite to keep it warm. There are tea/coffee makers & hair dryers in each room with extra pillows and blankets.

Pat is a genuinely good person and he really runs a great B & B. I HIGHLY recommend Avelow House--I can't recommend it enough! When I come home from my trip to Ireland, I'll post my photos.

Please don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: Room three was great--excellent views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobrien13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pat the owner could not have been nicer Beautiful cooked breakfast every morning enjoyed our stay lovely relaxed style and really enjoyed chatting to the other guest over breakfast about their adventures .Thank you Pat for been a lovely host & for the delicious smoked salmon with scramble eggs to get one set up for the day

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiePortlaoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Everything about this unpretentious B & B was first class. The rooms were spotless, the breakfast was wonderful, but best of all was our lovely host who could not have been more pleasant. He gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner, helped us with our luggage and generally made us feel welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishrose211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at Avelow House quite bedraggled and haggard looking after taking our GPS's suggested "scenic route" between Kinsale and Kenmare. The route took us on some seriously narrow and terrifying roads- roads scary enough that even the LOCALS were shocked we had made the drive. When we explained that we had just been through Priest's Leap to Pat, he instantly told us to come inside, put our feet up, and recover! He helped us lug our bag upstairs and took the time to show us all the idiosyncrasies of the room (i.e. the shower you have to turn on with a switch outside the bathroom).

The next morning, he found a map and showed us a route we should follow and gave us express instructions to never trust our GPS again.

His breakfast was wonderful. I think probably the best breakfast we had in Ireland.

On our second morning there, we were greeted by someone other than Pat and were told that he had felt chest pains in the night and had gone to the hospital. We were assured that he was fine and was going to be coming home soon, and were even given apologies that he wasn't there to see us off. Despite the family being under duress, they still made sure we were comfortable, fed, and even went as far as to say, "I hope the sound of the ambulance last night didn't disturb you."

Seriously friendly, honestly caring people and it was a pleasure to stay with them. The rooms decor was fresh and beautiful and looks as though it has recently been updated. The beds were comfy. The house is about 2 minutes' drive outside of town. You can easily walk to town for dinner (you won't need lunch because Pat feeds you so well at breakfast).

Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews