We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent, would recommend unhesitatingly”
other travelers have booked this property
John\'s Romantic Irish Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
John\'s Romantic Irish Cottage
Fully fitted kitchen everything 931
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
John\'s Romantic Irish Cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
everything 931
Anne's home baking
everything 930
View from cottage
Local market produce
Relax and unwind
Feeding time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, would recommend unhesitatingly”
Reviewed June 20, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely cottage, very well supplied, roomy, spotless, in a great part of the country. Can't praise the welcoming landlady too highly.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucMurail...
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
“Suberb cottage and suburb enviroment”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you seek peace and quit, a warm welcome and a very nice place to stay be sure you go to Druid Cottage! everything you need for a good vacation is avauilible. We stayd here for 2 weeks and Anna and Patrick made us feel at home. The cottige itselve is only 5 minutes drive from lovely Kenmare. It's a perfect spot for exploring Cork all the beautiful parts of Cork and Kerry : ring of Kerry, dingle penisula, Beara Peninsula, sheeps head, mizen head, lakes of killarny...
Ideal for walking or just touring and visiting, there's a lot to do or to see...
And the weather ..Irish but you know, you have to be Lucky....
Graet place, I surrtenly will come again

Luc Muraille, Belgium

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: environement, facilities, welcome
Liked least: no chairs for lying down in the garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abiyoyo
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just one word, excellent”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stay in the John's Romantic Irish cottage for only two nights, unfortunately we did not have more time, and we left like it was our home.

The cottage is extremely well equipped in all areas, kitchen, bathroom, etc.

The accommodation was very comfortable, and very convenient located to travel around Kerry peninsula and just few kilometers from Kenmare.

We definitely we will back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennardFa...
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous find - the perfect hideaway to unwind and de-stress”
Reviewed September 7, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Doire Farm Cottages delivered on all fronts. The accommodation was cosy, comfortable, and well-appointed with lots of little extras like the ready laid fire (just begging to be lit). There were even candles everywhere to add that romantic touch. After a full days’ travel we also arrived to find the fridge stocked with a few basics like fresh milk (how thoughtful)! The owners Anne & Patrick made us feel particularly welcome, to both their cottage (nothing too much trouble - just ask) and those touches like Anne's wonderful home cooking, especially the fresh, warm soda bread. We also managed to score some fresh laid eggs from the hens which lived on our doorstep.

As for the location it was perfect, just 5 mins from the charming town of Kenmare with plenty of choice of restaurants and pubs and of course situated on the Ring of Kerry. The great thing was once inside our lovely cottage peace and quiet reigned, apart from the delightful sounds of the birds and farm animals . This area is quite beautiful and we found touring so relaxed with everywhere easily within reach. From the wild Dingle Pensinsula to our favourite, the Beara Peninsula (often missed).

For anyone considering staying we would like to say we hope your visit is as pleasurable as ours was. Just one point worth mentioning though, the owners do not take credit card so be prepared to either settle in cash or arrange for a bank to bank transfer. We will definitely be recommending Doire Farm to all our friends and maybe one day we’ll be back … hope so!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the welcome and homeliness
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson NJ and Bermuda
Reviewed June 14, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jposterli...
Sterling, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A fantasic play to stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We just got back from spending 7 great days at this "cottage" I put cottage in quotes because this place is so well appointed and and clean and just in general a really nice play to stay. Kenmare is right next store to Killarney and the 3 big pennisulars in Southwest Ireland. Anne greeted us upon arrival with a homemade cheesecake and she was always available to help out or answer questions - just a great hostess.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewed May 9, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 18-24
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing