We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”

Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation
Ranked #7 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family group of 6 had a delightful meal on a rainy night in Kenmare. Two had the salmon with coriander dill yogurt sauce, one had the sea bass with ratatouille, one had the scallops (but when the kitchen ran short they added some sea bass and the diner was not disappointed) one had the fish pie au gratin and one had the seafood chowder and salad. The Australian chardonnay went well with all of our dishes. Our server did a fine job and Aileen came out to tell us about her grandfather (Tom Crean, the explorer).

The lemon tart deserts were a hit. My lavender ice cream was a bit of a disappointment (our waitress tried to steer me a away and I should have listened). We'll savor the memory of the meal for a good while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54thstreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenCreanOB, Owner at Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear 54thstreeter,
Thank you for your positive review. It was a terrible wet Thursday night and you braved the elements to dine in the restaurant, thank you. So glad you enjoyed the salmon and yes, as the fish is ordered in everyday, I ran out of scallops and am so glad the diner enjoyed the seabass which I added to make up the short fall. Glad you companions enjoyed the seafood gratin and the chowder and salad. We are lucky to have a local organic supplier Billy Clifford,for our mixed leaves and they are delicious. Glad you enjoyed the lemon tart, the sweet, crispy sugar pastry is a wonderful contrast to the tangy lemon curd. Sorry you didn't enjoy the wild heather honey and lavendar icecream, it's a very personal taste. I'm glad you left with good memories of your meal and dining experience in the restaurant and hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation. Kind regards, Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    103
    21
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My Husband and i ate here last night and it was excellent.

From the beautifully presented (and tasting) Sneem Black Pudding starter we shared, more than enough for two people, to the lovely mains, tortellini for me and split prawns for my husband, right through to what can only be described as the divine chocolate fondant! it is just perfect, not heavy as you would expect it to be but light and Moorish, yum!!

Will definitely be visiting again!!

Special mention for the fab Brown bread served prior to the starter!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3boysmom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenCreanOB, Owner at Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks 3boysmom79, for taking the time to submit such a great review. Glad you enjoyed the Sneem Black pudding starter, the pudding is from Peter O'Sullivan's butchers Sneem and the combination of the chutney and filo pastry and sauce work well. Glad you enjoyed your mains and I have to admit the chocolate fondant is to die for... Delighted you enjoyed the homemade brown bread, baked everyday. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic seafood and great service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Having planned our trip to Kenmare, we did some research and found this gem of a place.

To begin with, my email inquiry was dealt with not only swiftly but so helpfully by Aileen who also recommended great places to see.

When it came time to eat the food was fantastic with the lemon sole and butterflied prawns honestly some of the best we've ever had and the service was brilliantly attentive, warm and friendly.
Would recommend this place to anyone.

Alex and Jeanine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenCreanOB, Owner at Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Alex & Jeanine,
Thanks for taking the time to submit a great review. I like to give people tips/suggestions on things to do/see to maximise their experience and time spent in Kenmare and environs. Happy you liked your prawns and sole. We're so lucky to have access to such fresh fish and this is what makes the difference, it just has to be cooked simply. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great fish and great music”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great food, great atmoshere , good price, fantastic music and excellent service....what more can i say

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank earmani j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenCreanOB, Owner at Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Earmani J,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a great review. So glad you enjoyed the whole experience. As it was July I'm not sure whether it was Monday - Harpist or Wednesday - traditional musicians) night you visited. They will be starting shortly and so look forward to welcoming you back if you're in the area. Kind regards, Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A First Hand Antarctic Experience in Ireland”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I do not usually write reviews on restaurants; however, in the case of Tom Crean Fish and Wine Restaurant in Kenmare, County Kerry, Ireland, I am going to make an exception.

On August 16, 2012, my friends and I had an extremely enjoyable evening at Tom Crean's. The mouth-watering, crispy, luscious shrimp was done in such a way that it was unforgettable. The wide selection of wines offered was well thought out and presented.

The service - superb. The establishment had many photos of the Antarctic and Tom Crean After the meal we were joined by the hostess, Aileen CREAN O'BRIEN, who enthralled us with stories of her grandfather's Antarctic adventures. What an experience, to have Tom Crean's own granddaughter relate her memories!

I will surely make another visit there on my next visit to Ireland.

Truly an evening to remember.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AileenCreanOB, Owner at Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Foxsan, Thank you for your great review. I'm very happy you enjoyed the whole experience. I remember chatting with you after the meal and I love talking about my grandfather, an amazing explorer. You were lucky to get the last Tom Crean book. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Tom Crean Fish & Wine & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing