We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine Irish Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm

Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Adelaide, SA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine Irish Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We visited Molly Gallivan's as part of a Trafalgar Tour in September 2012. It's in a beautiful location with a stunning outlook and owned and managed by a family who were all involved in the experience. We had a genuine irish meal cooked on site (soup, irish stew, magnificent bread and apple crumble). Dad and the daughters played some music for us and one of the daughters sang - just beautiful. We had a tour of the farm as it would have been back in Molly's day, a bread making demo by the lady of the house who had the sparkliest, most friendly blue eyes and a potain distilling demonstration by the man of the house - with a tasting at the end of course! Slainte! Yes, people do buy Arran sweaters when they go to Ireland - I did! This visit to Molly Gallivan's was a highlight of our Wonders of Britain and Ireland Trafalgar Tour

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide_SAChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    112
    18
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I were on our way to Muckross house and decided to stop for some tea. This was a lovely little spot but we noticed there was much more that just a little tea house. It was a working farm and sold gifts.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice walking through the farm to view a little history. The rain and fog did shorten our visit a little but it was still very informative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GPS1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bit like the Tardis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Good little place to stop for a coffee, although I think it was instant. Very atmospheric and they certainly had worked hard at building up the attraction, the small frontage belies what behind it. Does anyone evey buy an Arran sweater when they go to Ireland?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank crinkleyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great few hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great visit to the this little cottage and farm. The view if you walk up to the top of the farm is beautiful. It is just a fun stop to see an example of how things were done a hundred or so years ago. There is a little film about Mary and the cottage is interesting to see. There is a good shop and little restaurant as well. I cannot comment on the food as we were on our way to somewhere else so we stopped for a short while and did not eat there. We were asked for a donation not a flat fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizzieliz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Molly Gallivan's Cottage & Traditional Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing