We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food”
Review of The Horseshoe

The Horseshoe
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: European, Irish, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was one of my favorite restaurants during our trip to Ireland. I didn't want to go here at first but my husband insisted and I am so glad we did. They had amazing seafood, delicious mussels and scallops, but my favorite was the sea trout with tiger prawns. It was jaw droppingly good, the kind of meal you have to stop and savor for a moment after each bite. I would definitely recommend this to couples who want a luxurious meal with some romance and a rich ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    82
    19
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Grub !”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped into this Bar/Restaurant about 3 years ago to meet a friend who was staying in Kenmare at the time. I vaguely remember the food being lovely, as I again passed through Kenmare 2 weeks ago with my partner. I decided to try it again for some food, on my way to Sneem. I wasn't disappointed, as the atmosphere was lovely and comfortable, and my homemade burger and fries, and my partners Salmon were delicious, so much that my partner said she hadn't tasted salmon as good in a while. A defo if in Kenmare.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcOMaoldomhnaigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Class - Consistently So!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have eaten at this quaint, characteristically old-world restaurant on many occasions over the years and we have never found it anything but consistent in terms of food, value, service and satisfaction! Service is always smart and sharp, food is always cooked to perfection, atmosphere is intimate, warm and comfortable, the icing on the cake being the uniquely simple expression, unsophisticated charm and pleasure of it's old-style environs. Reservation is advised and a visit is a must!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Padraic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Adequate food not worth waiting an hour for”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I had read excellent reviews on multiple sites,. so was looking forward to this meal. We arrived at 6:35 and were seated immediately. Didn't order drinks because we were going out for a pint and to listen to music later. Didn't order starters because it's too much food for us.

At that hour, they were already out of 2 mains--and the menu is small. One is what DH wanted, but that's life. We ordered a burger for DH and the sole (which was one of the specials) for me. After 40 minutes of being completely ignored, I inquired about our food and was told it would be plated next. That means we waited another 15 minutes.

DH's burger didn't come the way he ordered it, but he wasn't going to send it back and wait even longer. My fish was OK, but nothing special.

Such a disappointing experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andee110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Staff & Food were equally good!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had completed a marathon road tour through the Dingle Peninsula and Kilarny National Park and were starved. We showed up late and the waitress was very welcoming. The ambience was warm and comfortable and the food was very good, especially the seabass, ribs and scallops. Towards the end of our mea,l the chef took care of us and served home made apple pie. The overall experience was very satisfying and took some of the pain out of the two and a half hour drive home after dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing