We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, very friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Horseshoe

The Horseshoe
Ranked #15 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, very friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

On a cold Thursday night in February, we didn't have many choices for dinner in Kenmare. This looked good from the outside and didn't disappoint. We liked the cosy decor (although could have lived without Sting on the CD) and the waitress/landlady was very friendly. Food was very good, with a pile of fresh vegetables and potatoes au gratin. It did seem pricey, but that goes for much of what we've found here in Ireland. Would be happy to go again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aod326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    78
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
451 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 416 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I had the lamb shank and I was pleasantly surprised when it came with a decent serving of vegetables (which is not the norm with most of the meals I've had). The restaurant had a nice feel to it and had filled up by 7 PM. The server was pleasant and was quick with his service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

On a recent visit to Kenmare, I stumbled across The Horseshoe. There is a cosy bar just inside the door and the dining area just behind. We just popped in for a drink but liked the place so much decided to dine there as well. The food was fantastic with an interesting combination of ingredients. The white chocolate & raspberry cheesecake was particularly good as were the irish coffees!! Two waiters tended to the tables for the evening and were most attentive, refilling our wine and water glasses when needed but yet not intrusive. I would certainly return here again and could not recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tipperary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great service, slightly dated decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Arrived at the Horseshoe at about 8-30, having been too late for our restaurant of choice. Its an ordinary pub, with a restaurant space in the back. It was late, on a slow Tuesday night, and there was only one other table occupied. The waiter could not have been more welcoming, and at no time made us feel that we should hurry. They were also happy for some of us to just have a starter, and to share a couple of main courses between us. The food was beautiful, fresh fish, tasty meat, lovely veg, yummy deserts. I would recommend for families and for a special night out. The only small criticism would be that the decor is a bit old fashioned, and you do feel you are eating haute cuisine in the back of a pub.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jamastipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food - Best we had in Kenmare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Had a number of meals out in Kenmare - the HorseShoe being the best by far. Great Meal, lovely setting and the service was top class. Would highly recommend for a meal out.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DiaGuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horseshoe also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Horseshoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing