We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good bar food”

Foleys Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #23 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: $14 - $61
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award Winning Foley's is a popular Kenmare town centre Bar/Restaurant, with accommodation, serving high quality traditional Irish Fayre with locally sourced seafood and home-grown ingredients. This popular local bar is the perfect spot for a quiet afternoon pint, settling in to watch the match, having a chat with the locals, a meeting point for friends or enjoying the great music. We are sure you will find a warm welcome with great service when you soak up the atmosphere by the open fires in this most traditional setting.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Three for lunch -2 paninis.....good and 1 burger....exceptional. As good a burger as I have had. Fresh homemade chips. Usual friendly Kerry service and overall very good value.

Thank sceach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We aim to provide a menu that is good value, with fresh local ingredients in our food and served with a smile! Thank you for taking the time to add a review.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 445 of 618 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

I ate there last June. My husband had a HUGE dish of prawns---very hot--- He really enjoyed them--- once his fingers recovered --Yes they warned him, but he was starving . I had an excellent cheeseburger with good colcannon Atmosphere was strong-- locals watching a football match. Staff was friendly and helpful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FloridaEllenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

You are right about our prawns, they are very fresh and hot! Our burgers are all home made with the best of Irish beef and it is great that you enjoyed them so much. Foley's is a home from home, whether watching the match or just having a pint and a chat.

Thank you.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We dropped in for a quick pint and a bite to eat. Staff was friendly and squeezed us in before the kitchen closed. Food was average and the atmosphere was okay.

Thank Danny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking time to respond. All the Foley's Team try to accommodate requests wherever possible, it is a shame that you did not experience our normal menu standard. If you are back in Kenmare during the busier months, with more people out and about, you would experience a more vibrant atmosphere.

Thanks again for passing on your comments - they are always used to improve our service.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food, clean, good service. Price good. Just a little chilly while eating.
Waitress wonderful and the gentleman behind the bar friendly.

Thank myheartisinireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch, we just wish that you had not felt the cold so much. Ireland has been experiencing weather with all time low temperatures that have never been recorded before. That being said a table near the fire, with extra logs on it may have helped.

We will ensure that we are well prepared for next year, although we hope that this year was a one off.

Thank you for your review.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stopped here after a full day of travelling. We sat beside a cosy fireplace and the food was delicious. One of our best meals in Ireland. The atmosphere was a little dark and dreary though but overall we were very impressed with our meals!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

After a day of travelling it is always nice to sit next to an open fire and we are delighted that you found our food to be so enjoyable. As Foley's is an older building, it tends to be a little darker but this year we installed more lights, which certainly make a difference. Thank you for offering your suggestion.

Many thanks for your review.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foleys Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Foleys Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing