We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and music”

Foleys Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #23 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Price range: $14 - $61
Cuisines: Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Award Winning Foley's is a popular Kenmare town centre Bar/Restaurant, with accommodation, serving high quality traditional Irish Fayre with locally sourced seafood and home-grown ingredients. This popular local bar is the perfect spot for a quiet afternoon pint, settling in to watch the match, having a chat with the locals, a meeting point for friends or enjoying the great music. We are sure you will find a warm welcome with great service when you soak up the atmosphere by the open fires in this most traditional setting.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great food, large bowl of muscles very tasty. Traditional music entertaining during dinner. Plenty of spacious seating

Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Foley's is very fortunate to have so much space for dining and then for dancing. Kenmare is also fortunate to have wonderful local suppliers of fish and shellfish - which means that we can provide such tasty mussels.

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 452 of 618 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Found by accident, ate lunch. Have the fish and chips which are brill. The fish cooked to perfection in the best lightest batter I have ever tasted. Worth a visit anytime.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank craig3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments - the 'fish and chips' is one of our menu specialities.

Hopefully you will be able to taste them again soon.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The crab and salmon cakes are excellent, as is the service. The vegetarian lasagna was also very nice (and piping hot!) Their lunch specials are reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your lunch with us. We try to have a varied menu, with varied prices to suit all tastes and pockets.

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In our group of 6, some liked their meals better than others. The Guinness Meat Pie was the favorite of all. Delicious. The lamb stew was tasty, but a bit overloaded with potatoes. Fish and chips was just average. Our waitress was new and service was slow. We were shocked that it took so long for her to deliver our check after we asked for it, and when we asked another waitress after 15 minutes of not seeing our waitress, we were told our waitress had gone home. Odd.

Thank Where2Next4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

We always hope that all members of a party enjoy their meal and as the 'Fish and Chips' is one of our best sellers, it is unfortunate that you felt you did not receive our normal standard. As for our waiting staff, I can only state that this is not the norm. We take all comments good or bad very seriously and act to ensure that future guests do not feel the same way.

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We went in search of music in a pub and found exactly that. Old Irish standards from a musician playing a guitar from West Cork that held not only our attention, but a bar full of folks... some out of town, some local. A night to remember for sure. There was nothing to dislike. Food and service were great, Guinness, Smthwick, and Jamison at the ready.

Thank janecappiello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick099, Owner at Foleys Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

These comments perfectly fit with our aims and goals for all visitors to Foley's. We are so happy that you got to taste the full experience.

Thank you very much.

Marion and Patrick Foley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foleys Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Foleys Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing