We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Short Break”
Review of Dromquinna Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dromquinna Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent two nights in in one of the family tents recently (2 adults + 2 kids). Very different to spending two nights in a hotel. No hustle & bustle, no TV's. Very relaxing time. All of us enjoyed our stay. Beds were super comfortable & we all slept very well. The onsite facilites (shower & toilet block + the kitchenette) are clean & well maintained. Pitches are very private & well spaced out. We ate in the Boathouse bistro (very nice) the forst night & dropped in there for a drink the second night. If you are looking for a family getaway & want to try something different then I'd recommend looking into the Glamping experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaterfordWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Dromquinna Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Celebrated with friends recently at their son's wedding and the experience from start to finish was magical. The host John Brennan was "hands on" and enjoyed the banter as much as the rest of us. The setting is like a picture postcard and the words haunting and enchanting spring to mind. The grounds are super for strolling around with pre-dinner drinks and the quirky corridors and rooms make for interesting talk especially when you lose your way after too much wine. Had an amazing next day bbq at the beautifully restored Boathouse with its waterside setting. In all one of the nicest places I have been but then it's in Kenmare and where else can you find such natural beauty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Churlaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a brilliant Glamping weekend, our group occupied nine out of the twelve tents & we had a great time. We got tent no 12 which had a STUNNING view of the lake, tent no 10, 11 & 9 also had perfect views while the other tents had minimal views and you would need to walk towards the lake to enjoy the spectacular sights. The tents were exactly as we expected with each having their own wooden deck and chairs to see out and enjoy the countryside. Each tent had fresh towels, bedside lockers, lamps and hot water bottles if the nights get chilly. The bed linen & pillows were hotel quality and aided a perfect nights sleep. There is no power socket to charge phones but it was nice to switch off for the weekend, phones could be charged in the kitchen area if needed.

For children there was a playground, volleyball court and plenty of green space for them to play games. The kitchen was clean although it only had one fridge which was very small to accomodate the 12 tents, they require another two in my opinion. The BBQ areas were great with large park benchs to enjoy your food al fresco. Showers/toilets were spotless and water was lovely & hot which was very welcoming after a dip in the lake.

Small shop on site for basic requirements but closes at 6:30pm, Kenmare town is a 6/7 minute drive away if you require anything past this time.

We had a brilliant time & we plan to return next year.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request Tent 12, 11, 10 or 9 If You want a full view of the lake
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingaddict12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in Dromquinna for one night romantic break, didnt know what to expect but was very impressed. On arrival was greeted and given all necessary info as a 1st time glamper. Shown our tent which had a fabulous view out over water. Beds were amazing and even though the night was wet and windy we were snug in our bed with complintary hot water bottle. Toilets were a walk away but as its camping it was just part of experience. There were families and other couples on site but was very quiet and peaceful there. We had dinner in the boathouse which was also very nice and good value. Will return in the future for sure. It was camping with all the comforts and a great experience. Kitchen and toilets were spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corkca21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

we,a couple booked a 2 night stay here ..the place is beautiful and well maintained..showers kitchen etc were good and very clean .lovely staff,there is a shop on site so you can get fresh croissants in the morning..the bed was super comfy and the view is fab sitting on the veranda looking out onto kenmare bay..only negatives are the walk to the toilets but i believe there may be changes there in the future..also lower the price abit..150 a night is quite steep and most people i told and saw the photos agreed it was lovely but the price would not entice them..however i plan to return again in the near future..also we tried the boathouse restaurant and despite some negative reviews i found it great..nice food ,good price and nice view from the tables outside..we ate there 3 times with no problems.

Room Tip: request a tent down near the water better views ..
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolann058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights in one of the couples tents. Very cosy and the place is spotlessly clean. The BBQ area is nice and everything you need can be bought in the shop onsite. It is a bit pricey but well worth a visit. Request the tent right in front of the lake though. I agree with the other comments on here that the tents which are behind the trees should be cheaper. My only complaint is the noisy kids, that's more of a parenting issue than an owner issue but you pay €300 for two nights in a tent and then there is a kid bouncing a ball on a wooden veranda at 7 a.m. - bring your earplugs! The cleaners start early too! I think they should have adults weekends only and then I would definitely go back. It is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the tent on the lake, others are hidden behind trees.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twentysixfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Decided to stay here after hearing quite a lot about glamping... (GLAMOROUS camping).
There was not much glamorous about this, the glamp was very very basic and our view was of trees which you could just about see water through... I'm sure the whole experience would have been much more enjoyable if we got better weather but I definitely would think that dromquinna need to glamorise the glamps in order to provide the true glamping experience...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katecork12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
2.7 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
3.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
948 reviews
10.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromquinna Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromquinna Manor

Address: Templenoe, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dromquinna Manor is a 40 acre estate on the shores of Kenmare Bay. The Manor is dedicated to catering for weddings up to 180 guests in a magnificent Victorian building with a warm contemporary decor. A simply stunning setting with personal service. We have 14 tents on the grounds which are fully furnished and feature really comfy beds with duck down duvet and goose down pillows. Camping was never like this. The Boathouse Wine Bar & Bistro offers a tantalizing selection of dishes by the water. Shutters on the Pier is an informal party venue on the water that is ideal for informal parties for up to 120 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing