We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel Could Use Some Minor Upkeep”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Park Hotel Kenmare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park Hotel Kenmare
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel Could Use Some Minor Upkeep”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I spent three nights here in June. The location is second-to-none, and the grounds and facilities are generally outstanding. I do have a couple of quibbles. First, with respect to facilities: I overheard one of the staff telling another guest that the hotel had seen severe rainstorms earlier in the year, and that they found the building leaking in places where leaks had never been seen before. My room showed some evidence of this, with wallpaper beginning to peel in places, and one or two small water stains on the ceiling. Unrelated to the water-intrusion issue, I found the décor of the bathroom to be a bit dated. My second quibble relates to service. The service, when provided, was perfectly gracious. The front desk was exceptional in recommending and helping to book activities. But on several occasions, I was hoping for a drink before dinner, swung by the bar, and found no one tending it. In fact, throughout my whole stay I never saw anyone behind the bar. I don't mean to focus on the negatives; because my experience was, on the whole, wonderful. And maintaining such an old building is, I'm sure, a Sisyphean endeavor. I would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel. But I can't quite bring myself to give it a five star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    91
    73
    37
    26
See reviews for
132
316
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rainbow, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We would not have even considered a 5 star resort except that it was so peaceful and beautiful we splurged and had the best time, albeit for one night. We were treated to what I would have to describe as the best room in the place, dead center and on the top floor offering us the most beautiful view of the Kenmare River and the manicured lawns and gardens. The service was impeccable and the breakfast delightful. Once again we had the best seats in the house and when we mentioned that the coffee was a bit weak, they quickly brought a pot with a more robust blend. They even washed our car windshield so we could have a better view of the Irish countryside. You only live once and this was worth experiencing!

Room Tip: We were given Room #308 and it was the most perfect suite with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wwubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was in this hotel for Afternoon Tea as part of a hen party of 20 girls. The food was lovely, simple and tasty as it should be. There were 2 coeliacs in our party. When the bridesmaids went to pay, they were rudely told that the charge would be for 22 people as there was 2 'extra' plates put out for the coeliacs. There was 20 people paying E25 each for the afternoon tea and then to ask to pay for 22 was a disgrace. The hotel made a large profit on a Saturday afternoon at 1pm without being mean and trying to get an extra E50. John Brennan knocked off 1 but the party of 20 still paid for 21 people. I wouldn't be returning for afternoon tea here again, especially if you have a coeliac (or perhaps another dietry requirement) in your group.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sinead T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with 6 adults, a 6 month old and 2 toddlers. Waitress we had was very extremely helpful and accommodating. Quality of the food was of a high standard and very tasty, (especially the tiger prawn dish). The fresh scones, homemade lemon biscuits, the cheeseboard and strawberries were delicious. It was a very relaxing afternoon and we never felt rushed. We even got a photo with Francis :-) Will be back and definitely would recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lemon1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Beautiful Facility and Grounds...our room was lovely (and larger than expected)...and the EVERYONE working there took such pride and ownership of the operations. We were so lovingly taken care of.

I think many people pass up staying in Kenmare for the larger town north...we found Kenmare charming and had no lack of interesting conversations with the permanent residents.

The hotel is located a long driveway from the center of town.

Can't say enough good things about this establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Well worth the hard work that it took to earn the money that it cost to stay here.

The hotel, grounds, food, rooms & staff are great.

The spa is advertised as being number 2 in Europe. I was a bit sceptical about who voted but now I'm wondering which is number 1 because the Park Kenmare is way ahead of great spas like Inchadonney and Hotel Europe etc.

It is now my favourite hotel.

I can't wait to come back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank checktwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a really lovely break in the hotel. All meals were tasty and very enjoyable. As all reviews have mentioned the staff were attentive. Sadly the sofa couch was so uncomfortable. Much sleep was needed once home again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freshblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
894 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kenmare

Property: Park Hotel Kenmare
Address: Kenmare V93 X3XY, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kenmare 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Hotel Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing