We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ireland of the welcomes”
Review of Park Hotel Kenmare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Hotel Kenmare
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ireland of the welcomes”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The Park Hotel is a beautiful building set in magnificent surroundings, but it is the warmth,friendliness and enthusiasm of all the staff which makes it so very special.
Quality local produce,cooked to perfection and served with pride is surely the essence of any dining experience.
This is the epitome of Irish hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EI105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    95
    74
    39
    26
See reviews for
134
327
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

What can we add?. John and Francis run a lovely establishment with exceptional service. They arranged fly fishing, golf and day trips. Perfect service hike still making it feel effortless and homey. The spa is truly lovely and I could have spent hours in the thermals with the wonderful view of the bay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Value is a difficult concept easily recognised when it is experienced.
Are there more modern establishments in Ireland? Yes of course there are, but talk of dated is irrelevant in a room where the furniture and objects de art are older than the state itself!
Come here for excellence, quality service, gifted chefs with real commitment to local produce and staff who combine hospitality,ease of manner and professionalism seamlessly!
Need advice on gardening? the lads working in the grounds will help, local information? Any of the staff are a rich seam of knowledge. Food and wine ? Louise and her team are the front of house to a superb kitchen.
Enjoy and spread the word. We may have lost our way in many things but in hospitality we can still be world class.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dinner was very good, staff were lovely, yes expensive at 70.00 but we all need a treat. The place is well worth a visit as the gardens are kept so well. Bar area and lounge are lovely to sit back and relax in. The staff are so nice and friendly, very well trained and making it a dining experience.

Room Tip: Go relax and enjoy........
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClonmelTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I have heard of great reviews and appraises of Park Hotel Kenmare so I checked in this hotel with high expectations. Fortunately the staffs and the hospitality of the hotel did not disappoint me at all ~! Upon checking in, the concierge and the staff already were awaiting for my arrival and greeted me by my name (perhaps they do not receive that many single Asian travelers). My room was upgraded to a spacious suit with lake and garden views. I loved waking up with the blinds open looking the lake views.

But like suggested in the title of my review, I opted out and decide to dine out every meals (except breakfast). There are many great choices at much reasonable prices within walking distance to Park Hotel Kenmare. When I saw the dinner option of EUR70/person, I thought local delicacies probably would do more justice, and the I think I made the right choice. Just across the street from the hotel, the Irish pub serves delicious rib and daily soup selections with alive Irish music playing after 8pm daily!

The 25m lap pool is great and I thoroughly enjoyed my laps daily spent in the heated pool.

The location of the hotel is stunning, overlooking the greenery golf course and the lake. In the intersection of the two main roads of Kenmare Village which means it is very convenient to get to any shops and restaurants one wishes to visit.

Hospitality and services is up to the standard anyone would expect of a 5-star hotel and definitely no complains to be made during my stays, except the malfunctioned fire alarm that decided to sound off twice during the mid-night which disturbed my last night of sleep, and the lack of hot water at 5am in the morning for my shower. But I have made both comments in the commentary form submitted back to the management and I hope all those would have been fixed for the next visitors.

Room Tip: I truly enjoyed the views of the room and I would recommend to ask for rooms down in the far end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

we have just had the most fantastic 5 nights in the Park.From the moment we arrived to our leaving we were just spoiled.We have been to the Park before but never felt compelled to write a review, about anywhere.We were welcomed in like long lost friends and were treated like royalty from Mr.Brennan right down through all the staff but with a special mention for John in the cocktail lounge and Louise and her team in the dining room.We had o lovely hike with John on saturday and we were then served breakfast on the terrace on sunday morning.We had dinner on 2 nights which were just divine,we had pre dinner drinks and canapes in the lounge followed by a beautiful dinner served at our leisure,just superb. We cant wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clif l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiddingstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had booked five double rooms for a special birthday trip, so I was really hoping The Park would live up to expectations..... AND IT DID. The hotel is a charming mixture of luxury and friendliness that guarantee's a great stay. The view from our room over the bay was a lovely way to start the day and the great breakfast went a long way to help the hangover. We had dinner in the hotel the first night and everyone was in agreement, it was fantastic and couldn't be faulted. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. They were also mainly Irish which is always nice and helps the atmosphere of a place. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you want a most enjoyable break in Kenmare and I look forward to returning in the not so distant future. Many thanks to all at The Park for making the weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.8 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Kenmare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Kenmare

Property: Park Hotel Kenmare
Address: Kenmare V93 X3XY, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Kenmare 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Kenmare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenmare Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing