We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Forgefield House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenmare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forgefield House
Ranked #17 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed with Sheila and Sam for 3 very comfortable nights.
They made us very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable - even taking and collecting us from the pub one evening and lending us their cool box for a picnic!
We were able to use the lounge during the evening, and the outside deck is a great place to relax and catch the sun - as we did!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayleighCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Sheila and Sam welcomed us on arrival with tea and biscuits on the decking. We had a spacious room with a large six foot wide bed. The beautiful view from our room at the back overlooked fields, trees and wild flowers. The breakfast was first class with plenty of choice from continental to full Irish.Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. Sheila lent us a cool box for a picnic together with plastic wine glasses and some cutlery. We were able to keep our wine and food in their fridge for the time we were there. We stayed for three nights and on the second evening our hosts kindly offered to drive us into Kenmare and bring us back later. This enabled our friends and us to enjoy a a meal and a few drinks.
We have no hesitation in recommending Forgefield House as an excellent place to stay.

Jo and Clive

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 852TomSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent three superb nights in Forgefield House! Sheila and Sam are doing a great job caring for their guests in the lovely house with spacious, light, clean en-suite rooms. The Breakfast is delicious and keeps you going until late afternoon if needs be. Especially when you opt for the full Irish version :)
Note that the B&B is located just outside Kenmare: if you don't have a car available you will have to walk approximately 3km to the village.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Forgefield House as the last B & B before we left Ireland. We stayed at several different highly rated B & B's during our two weeks in Ireland and this was the best! It was the perfect package. The Forgefield House is new and beautifully built with attention to comfort. Our room was large and comfortable and not overfilled with furniture as many places we stayed were. There was ample storage. Our bed was comfortable. The bathroom was roomy and had a lovely shower. Breakfast is an Irish specialty and Sheila and Sam provided the best. The fruit was fresh and varied. There was a variety of cold and hot choices and the eggs were perfectly cooked. Best of all though, was the French press coffee which we thoroughly enjoyed overlooking a sunny flower filled meadow from the sun porch. Sheila and Sam made our stay very special. They drove us and picked us up from dinner our first night giving us a great dinner recommendation. Our second day was also my birthday and the Kempes made sure that it was special. They even made dinner reservations for us while we were touring the Ring of Kerry. I can honestly say that they made us feel like treasured members of their family. I hated leaving their home as it was the highlight of our wonderful two weeks in Ireland.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mony-MonyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Traveling in Ireland can be daunting as the roads here leave a lot to be desired. If you leave the main thoroughfare you are faced with potholes on every turn, suicide sheep and stray animals of every variety , donkeys to dogs. But, the scenery and the people make it all worthwhile. One such couple was Sheila and Sam Kemps, a lovely pair who own and operate a superb bed and breakfast called Forgefield House. The facility is six years old but, it very well kept. Our room at the top of the stairs , at the back of the house could only be described as cavernous. One of the largest rooms on this 14 day journey through the Emerald Isles. Exhausted from a days drive down from Dingle the Kemps invited us into their home like relatives and catered to our every need. My wife was kind enough to purchase a couple of bottles of Guinness at a local grocery store and Sam was quick to offer a proper glass, ice and an invitation to meet 'Casper' .....not the local ghost but, their beautiful Fox Wire Terrier. We love animals so, 'Casper' made friends immediately and later joined us -by invitation-, when the other guests had left , for breakfast the next morning. The room was clean, neat, large with tall ceilings and had incredible water pressure w/ actual Hot & Cold water..one of my pet peeves with B&B's . The room was ensuite, of course, with a large shower, plenty of soft towels and the mattresses were excellent. They served a proper Irish Breakfast and we choose the smaller portions of Eggs w/ Salmon, Yogurt, Fresh Fruit, Fresh Brown Bread and coffee & Tea. Parking was a breeze and their location superb , with easy access in/out of Kenmare. Some folks demand a nights stay Inside the Town but, a good bit of traveling has taught us to stay just outside town where the noise of traffic and party people are left behind. This particular facility is built on family property, handed down through Generations, and is backed by part of the family farm. You might see a Fox, lots of fowl and in our case, a playful Rabbit scampering about. The view was superb. This bed and Breakfast enjoys it's Top Rating on TripAdvisor and it is well deserved. Thanks to our wonderful hosts, Sam & Sheila....save a blood sausage for 'Casper' from us..

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the back...what a view! Makes you want to Run with the Foxes and Be As One with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The owners were delightful and helpful, the rooms comfortable and sprarkling clean, the breakfast delicious. What we loved most about Forgefield House, though, was the serenity of the setting. It was so nice to stay on the edge of town, away from the late night noise of the pubs in downtown Kenmare. It was also lovely to go for a walk on the tiny lane where Forgefield House is located, getting a sense of what it would be like to live here. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Sam and Sheila were fantastic hosts, very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. Rooms and service offered was top notch and the adorable family pet dog always about for a pat but never a nuisance. Superb value for money and can not wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jailbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.8 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 62 in Kenmare
637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#16 of 62 in Kenmare
92 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 62 in Kenmare
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
1,002 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.5 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forgefield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forgefield House

Address: Crossroads Killowen road. Gortagass. | Roughty bridge, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is set in some of the most scenic areas around Kenmare. All rooms are individually furnished with personal comfort in mind. There are 2 family en-suites with super king beds, 1 en-suite king bed, 1 double, & 1 twin with shared bathroom. There is also TV, hospitality tray, slippers, and hairdryer in each room. We offer a wide choice of traditional or continental breakfast which can be eaten on our lovely elevated deck with stunning views weather permitting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing