We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST in Kenmare”

Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The BEST in Kenmare”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ambiance, food, service were all tops. The black sole and oysters were excellent and for desert we had the best apple tarts ever. this is a favorite place for us and we heard from several locals that it is for them too

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    68
    27
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect food, beautifully presented”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our second time to eat here & it was at the height of the season when they were extremely busy. While this might have slowed the service somewhat, it did not impact in any way on our enjoyment. The service is efficient & very friendly, the food is marvellous from the breads all the way through to the stunning deserts. We had a wonderful night & will be back again & again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Delicious food, trendy for Ireland”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Friendly and efficient staff, nice ambiance, good food. My steak was pretty great, really - it tasted earthy and beefy and wonderful - not like a sauce, and not remotely bland like so many steaks are. I could swear I was smelling/tasting grass and hay, in a good way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont miss it”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

From the amuse bouche to the creme brulee this was a great experience. Staff are professional. For a three course meal with wine and liquer the price was reasonable. I'd go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevesterBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Now called Mulcahys, one of Ireland's best”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get a reservation the one night we were in Kenmare, and boy, were we lucky. This is clearly one of the gems of Ireland. I would go so far as to say that it would be worth diverting your trip to be in Kenmare for a night just to eat here. The service was perfect, prompt (without being pushy) and friendly. Many of the dishes we had in Ireland were sea food, and our entrées at Mulcahys were no exception. This wasone of the more expensive dinners, with appetizer and entrées and a very good bottle of wine was about 120 euro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallahassee-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to Mulcahy's Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing