We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lime Tree Restaurant

The Lime Tree Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 55 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Irish, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lime Tree is recognised as Kenmare's landmark restaurant. Housed in a beautiful building dating back to 1832, the food and service continues to win accolades and many new customers. The quality ingredients are sourced locally and then carefully prepared with passion. Fish from the cleanest waters in Europe is delivered daily and lamb is provided by the local farmer. Simple caring preparation ensures tasty food. The service is friendly and efficient with an emphasis on value for money in an informal manner.
Rosengarten, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Simply loved it. Romantic interior, excellent food, good wine, lovely people. Best desert ever, if you like rhubarb, try the rhubarb crumble!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    86
    38
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lopster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Thanks a mill for the lobster it was brill ,had a great night with the family mike hope to see you next year,thanks again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awful attempt at vegetarian options”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We went there as I have had great meals there before but it was a shame to see that the only vegetarian option was goat's chees & beetroat for main course and either soup or goats's cheese again as a starter!
A little imagination and this could be a great place

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food in lovely restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Took my wife to Kenmare for her birthday, luckily I had booked a few days earlier as they were packed. Always a good sign to see a full restaurant.
The food was amazing, we were both well impressed with this quaint restaurant. Nice secluded location with parking, friendly atmosphere and we really enjoyed the 3 course dinner.
Well recommended if you're ever in Kenmare, but book ahead!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Benaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth traveling to Kenmare just to try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We dined here on Sunday 3 August - one of the busiest nights of the year, as it's a bank holiday weekend. We've heard so many great things about the Lime Tree that we decided to try it out!

The food was amazing, the staff very friendly and it was nice to get to chat with the chef at the end of the night.

As a vegetarian, I had the soup of the day and the goats cheese croquettes. They were both great, but (as everywhere else), it would be great to have some more vegetarian options.

If you stay in Kenmare, you have to book a table!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmettU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Tree Restaurant also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to The Lime Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing