We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and lovely staff”
Review of No 35

No 35
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: No. 35 is a family-run, characterful and confident local dining room. We cook with the best of what's around us, using ingredients in season. On our farm, just a mile up the road, we breed our own pedigree rare breed Saddleback pigs for the delicious free-range pork we serve at No. 35. Open for lunch and dinner
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Went for a meal here this last weekend ans was very happy with it. The staff were so friendly in particular the guy serving us from Dublih I think and the food was very nice. Recommend getting the belly of pork spring rolls and the catch of the day. Wasn't mad about the Maltesters surprise dessert but it was fun to try. Gets very busy so need to book!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nathalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for you review,delighted you enjoyed your evening with us at No 35 I will pass on your lovely comments about our staff to Neill and all the team
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 726 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

Made my reservation for No 35 a few weeks ago and was keeping a keen eye on the reviews. After eating there on Saturday the 16th of August I feel that some of the reviews are unfair. The staff are friendly, hard working and made us feel very welcome. It was lovely to go into a restaurant in Ireland and be greeted by Irish staff. The gentleman who led us to our table was a breath of fresh air. After touring around Ireland for the past two weeks it was charming to get a real Irish welcome. I would think that the only reason why food would be delayed in any Restaurant would be due to understaffing.
We had a great tasty meal and would have no hesitation in sending any of our friends to this lovely restaurant that give value for money, great service and lots of smiles

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Fantastic review ,really appreciate your comments ,we really have an excellent team of staff in No 35.delays are usually a result of bookings not coming in at the relevant times ,then the kitchen is backed up when all the tables come at the same time ,we try and spread the booking throughout the evening according to customers desired eating time ,we cook everything to order from fresh and always have quicker items on the menu if someone is in a hurry
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Kenmare
Kind regards
Dermot Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

This great little restaurant, situated nicely on the main drag in Kenmare, was a genuine delight to visit. The waiting staff were first class and the food was not all that far behind. There was a very pleasant atmosphere and although the restaurant was very busy it was all managed with aplomb. No one will be disappointed if they eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DC1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words - really delighted that you enjoyed your visit to No 35
Hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Myself, Wife, Caemerhon (7) & Hannah (8), had a meal on a Friday evening. We had not booked but got a table as it was early.
We had a bottle of wine at 30euro. The wine was very nice. We had the starter platter which was excellent as we got to taste black pudding, chicken wings, brusceta and dim sum. It was very good value.
The kids had chicken goujons with chips and garlic bread. They enjoyed them. The restaurant catered well for families.
I had the Sea Bass which was cooked to perfection and served with Mediterranean Vegetables and Mash. My wife had the duck which she loved.
Would go back again.

1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Excellent review ,deleighted you and family enjoyed your evening at No 35
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We went to n° 35 following all of the very good recommandations and we were not disappointed although not amazed by the place.

On the service: when we arrived, we were seated and then we had to wait for about 50 minutes until we finally decided to tell the lady she hadn't even been giving us the menu. When we finally ordered our food, two tables who had been filled after ours had been served. After that, our food took about 40 minutes to reach our table. It is understandable the restaurant would be busy at night time, but if they are used to attracting such a big crowd, maybe they should hire more staff so as not to make their cusomers wait 1h30 before getting their food. We also noticed the staff was treating older customers (40 and +) better than the younger ones (we are around 30). Probably because they assume older customers are more likely to leave a bigger tips? We would have had a much nicer impression of the staff (and left a bigger service charge) if we hadn't been served 45minutes after the 2 tables of older customers who had arrived after us.

On the food: the food was fine but after such a wait and after reading all of the impressive reviews, we were expecting the food to be delicious. We were served one portion of the fish of the day, which was served grilled on half-cooked vegetables and one portion of a dish which was so spicy it was close to impossible to eat half of the plate. The food was also quite pricey although it's absolutely nothing exceptionnal.

Therefore, the restaurant is fine, the decor is interesting, the food was good but not exceptionnal, and the service was impossibly slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lina I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing