We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dining”
Review of No 35

No 35
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: No. 35 is a family-run, characterful and confident local dining room. We cook with the best of what's around us, using ingredients in season. On our farm, just a mile up the road, we breed our own pedigree rare breed Saddleback pigs for the delicious free-range pork we serve at No. 35. Open for lunch and dinner
jacksonville, fl
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dining”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family was renting a townhouse while in Kenmare, Ireland. We use Trip Advisor for all of our trips for places to stay, dine etc. "No 35" got a great review so we decided to try it. We are so glad we did! We were in the area for 8 nights and ate 3 nights at this restaurant.
The setting is comfortable and cozy. The waitstaff are top-notch and very friendly. The food was fabulous......loved the salmon in a wonderful sauce; the chicken with thai noodles is delicious; burger was scrumptious! We all loved this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oetjen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review and great feedback, really appreciate your repeat business
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    154
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service - very creative chef”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were 4 vegetarians that ate in style. The chef took the challenge of making a veg dish and did such a wonderful job, created a lovely layered dish that was so tasty! Between the wonderful salads and the meals, the 4 of us couldn't finish the yummy chocolate dessert. Pasta was a little heavy, could be split.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review ,I will pass on your comments to head chef Joe Ryan and all the Kitchen team,we look forward to welcoming you back some day
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome food !! Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

so, in a small town, things are closing--late Sept read about this lovely restaurant and DONT be fooled if you look in the window and hardly anyone is there. The big part of the restaurant is upstairs!! We sat in the cosy down stairs area --loved it!! Great waiter, food fantastic for both my husband and I!! A real gem for the town. Thanks for the great meal!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Great review ,delighted you enjoyed your evening at No 35 ,yes you are correct ,some of the restaurants in Kenmare will have limited opening over the winter season ,At No 35 we stay open for October, November ,and December ,We can also cater for group booking and any private dining occasion over the festive season and New Year
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashel, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Craft beer and Food to restore your faith in Irish restaurants”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We went there with a friend to enjoy a one course dinner, we saw No. 35 promoted craft Irish beer, one of which I had never hear about. We looked at the menu and it was varied and exciting, we went in and the place looked so tiny and yet we sat upstairs, had a lovely table, plenty of room, efficient and friendly service and a great choice of out of the ordinary food, tasty, well balance, local produce, you couldn't ask for more...
If you go to Kenmare, try No. 35 for a different experience.
They seem to also have a good wine list but I went to the craft beer with my Kerry lamb tagine, just writing about it, I want to go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan- Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, delighted you enjoyed our selection of Irish Craft Beers ,we are awaiting the arrival of a new craft cider form Co. Wicklow ,we do hope you get the chance to come back to visit No 35 again
Best Wishes
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in Cozy Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wonderful dinner at a table on the 2nd floor right in front of the window looking over one of the main streets in Kenmare. Seafood was incredibly fresh and well cooked. Really enjoyed the craft beers from around Ireland. Service was wonderful as well. If possible, try to get the table on the 2nd floor overlooking the downtown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan- Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for a great review,glad you enjoyed your evening with us at No 35
Hope to see you again sometime
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing