We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of No 35

No 35
Ranked #5 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: No. 35 is a family-run, characterful and confident local dining room. We cook with the best of what's around us, using ingredients in season. On our farm, just a mile up the road, we breed our own pedigree rare breed Saddleback pigs for the delicious free-range pork we serve at No. 35. Open for lunch and dinner
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We went in for dinner on our way from Glengarif to Killarney. The food was exceptional. I highly recommend the beet root salad. F ever back in Kenmare again we are going there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waleed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Glad you enjoyed dinner so much, great review
hope to see you again soon
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    151
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Irish Craft Beers in a lovely town”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just home from a brief visit to Ireland and felt that I had to write a review of No 35. We arrived late in the evening chancing our arm as we did not have a reservation. The restaurant was busy (always a good sign) but they managed to squeeze us in. The staff while very busy were very attentive and friendly- It's amazing to watch them fly up and down those steep stairs. We ordered the starter platter for 2 which was very very tasty and great value with a nice variety. My wife had the Stonewell Irish Cider which comes from a village (can't recall the name) near Kinsale and I had the Dungarvan Blonde Ale- both were delicious and went down a treat. Our mains of the Barbary Duck and Cod Special were divine. We could not fit in dessert on this occasion so I can't advise on this but the menu looks great. Instead we had Irish Coffees. Now I make a great Irish Coffee myself but I have to admit I was beaten hands down by this one- absolute perfection. I note a previous reviewer had complained about waiting times for food- the food in this place is certainly worth ANY waiting time- you can taste that it's obviously freshly cooked to order and hey, it's not MacDonalds! All in all we had a fabulous evening in No 35 and will definitely be recommending it to our friends. Bravo No 35.
Mark and Linsey

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travalotEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Superb review ,thank you, Our Irish craft beers and ciders are very popular at present ,Stonwell.my favourite cones from Nohoval in Kinsale in Cork ,I will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff ,I agree good food takes time to cook ,well said we are not "Mc Donalds"
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Really lovely place to enjoy a fine meal - everything perfect!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just had a beautiful meal in this restaurant. Could not fault it in any way. Service was brilliant and staff were very helpful. Would highly recommend this place for a high quality night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pencilbattery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your great review of No 35 , delighted you enjoyed the experience so much and hope to see you again soon
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time waits for no man”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Got the starters quite quickly but 1 hour later we were still waiting for our main course so we paid and left.After talking to the manager we did manage to get our bar bill free. Shame as the menu looked very interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank saltyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan- Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. A pity you decided not to wait for your main courses which (as you were informed) were being plated –up as you were leaving.

At No 35 our ethos is to prepare our food from the freshest local ingredients. As every dish is cooked to order, I hope you understand that this does take time. Dishes such as well done steaks, chicken, pork and burgers take extra time. Your order was taken at 7.45pm and having had your drinks, breads and starter course cooked, consumed and cleared, your main courses were about to go to the table at 8.40 pm. This we feel would be a normal turn-around time for the quality food which we pride ourselves on presenting.
As another reviewer remarked good food takes time to cook and we are not Mc Donald's
If someone tells us they are in a hurry ,we would gladly look after them ,some menu choices are quicker to cook than others
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here. Restaurant is a bit strangely oriented with the small room downstairs and upstairs but worthy of a visit for the food and desserts

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agfmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Dermot Brennan Proprietor at No 35, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing No 35 and delighted you enjoyed the food so much.
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing