We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”
Review of No 35

No 35
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: No. 35 is a family-run, characterful and confident local dining room. We cook with the best of what's around us, using ingredients in season. On our farm, just a mile up the road, we breed our own pedigree rare breed Saddleback pigs for the delicious free-range pork we serve at No. 35. Open for lunch and dinner
Dublin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This place was nice enough although it was very busy and there was a few problems.

The food was all very nice and of good quality.
We had the duck spring rolls and chicken wings and soup which were all nice.
3 of us had steak, which was nice the other had the cod special which he liked.
The deserts were really good. pear and almond tart was lovely and moist and the strawberry pavlova was really nice. The maltesers and ice cream was ok, tasty enough.

Wine was very reasonably priced and very nice. we had a Chilean red i think.

So, for some of the bad news: One of the orders was taken wrong and someone got the wrong dish. This was ok, he decided to keep it and got the price of the other dish.
Then our bill was incorrect, it didnt charge the correct price for the meal deal they do.
This was all ok and fixed, but beware and keep an eye out.
We had a nice relaxing time and a great night.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel85Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dermot Brennan Propreitor at No 35, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for your to the point review I appreciate people taking time to review our restaurant
Glad you enjoyed you food ,but apologies for the mix up with the original order and the bill
Please do call again on you next visit to Kenmare
Best Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    147
    24
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wish we could go back every week!”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and I ate here twice during our recent stay in Kenmare. We chose it because it looked the most interesting from it`s menu displayed outside. Both evenings it was busy, but the service was excellent and friendly and the food was scrumptious (my husband, who never clears his plate, ate every morsel) . He declared that the batter on his fish was the best he had eaten since a long-ago visit to Port Isaac.
We would gladly travel back to Kenmare at any time to visit No 35!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank Panda686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dermot Brennan Propreitor at No 35, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thanks you for your great review of No 35 Apologies for delay in responding to some reviews but it was a busy summer in Kenmare this year I agree the fresh cod and homemade chips is a real treat ,
Please do call again on your next visit to Kenmare
Kind Regards
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Value- lovely food”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Myself and a couple of friends ate here recently. We were seated upstairs and had a lovely table. I had the Porkbelly Spring Rolls, followed by the Duck and my friends had the Steak and the Curry which was mild while both of them had the Tomato and Mozeralla Tart for starters. Food was lovely, served hot and not lukewarm as sometimes this can be the case with other restaurants.Very tasty, great service and very friendly staff. Will be looking forward to a return in the not to distant future. I would recommend a reservation though if you are thinking of eating here on a week-end night.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank OGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dermot Brennan Propreitor at No 35, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your kind comments about No 35 We really appreciate all reviews .Weekends are quite busy in Kenmare so a quick e-mail or phone call before is always helpful
Hope to see you again on your next trip to Kenmare
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was the best restaurant we ate in during our stay in Kenmare, so good we went twice. The first time my wife had mussels and I had a goats cheese tart. Both were excellent and very large. For mains I had a large steak and my wife had Seabass both were excellent. We could not fit desert in but having seen what was being brought out at other tables it also looked to be of a very high standard.
The staff were excellent and extremely friendly and attentive answering any question about food or even the local area. and easily catered for my 2 year old son.
Also when I over paid my bill accidentally(2 notes stuck together) my wife recieved a phone call the next moring to tell us this and to arrange a time for collecting it even though the restaurant was closed that day. I have never had that happen anywhere else!
If you want a great meal and a good price (22 euro for 2 courses when I was there, steak extra) look no further.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank jenkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dermot Brennan Propreitor at No 35, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Fantastic review ,and delighted to hear your 2 year old enjoyed his evening too ! I agree about our steaks ,they are all 100% prime Irish Hereford Beef ,We change the fish specials according to what is available Locally so glad you liked the Seabass.
Until your next visit
Regards and thank you
Dermot Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

we had dinner her on a recent trip to Ireland ,A cute little restaurant in the town centre ,great food ,great service and excellent value

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank breda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Dermot Brennan Propreitor at No 35, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Appreciate your direct and to the point review ,It says everything about No 35
Thanks
Dermot Brennan Proprietor /Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 35 also viewed

Kenmare, County Kerry
Kenmare, County Kerry
 

Been to No 35? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing