We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic Lakes side location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Enjoy a round of golf at Dooks Golf Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Caragh Lake, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tariq S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic Lakes side location”
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage was exactly as it is on the photos on the website ! It was quaint , peaceful and had lots of charm. The views across the lake were stunning - you could sit around the fire pit and watch the moon glisten on the lake at night whilst watching the stars or watch the sun rise and shine onto the lake and surrounding hills in the morning( if you don't mind getting up early!).The cottage was spacious and has everything you will possibly need or want ! Jens and Michelle were both very attentive and helpful - we had fresh apple pie for 6 , and a bottle of wine on arrival, they were on hand to help when things went wrong or to advise on places to go and things to do ! Jens even met us in a nearby town to make sure that we didn't get lost and got to the cottage safely. Great location to explore Killarney National Park down to Dingle and other parts of the South West of Ireland. So many great places to see or walk, with some spectacular views across the Atlantic. A car is a must !

Would highly recommend this cottage for comfort , quality and location. Would love to return !

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Hi Tariq,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

It was an absolute please to welcome you on Madam's Island and hopefully we'll have the chance to meet again.

Safe travels and until next time.

Warm regards from the lake.

Jens & Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile692...
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Acorn Cottage was everything it was said to be... and more! It was a luxurious but cozy cottage. The beds were very comfortable, the fireplace warm & welcoming during the rare chilly evening, and literally everything was provided. We were greeted upon arrival by Michelle who had a bottle of chilled white wine and a delicious rhubarb tart ready for us. She was very helpful and full of tips (thumbs up for the restaurants Jack's and The Oratory).

We were blessed with wonderful weather during our stay on Madam Island. Most evenings were spent outside, enjoying the beautiful nature and serenity of the location. The cottage is ideally situated for hiking and day trips around the Ring of Kerry. The nearby village of Killorglin was great for food shopping and pubs.

The only disadvantages were narrow, scary Irish roads (survived without a scratch!), and a vacation that was too short! Many thanks to our hosts!

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you so much for the kind words. It was lovely to host you at Acorn Cottage. Hopefully keep in touch and we'll start working on those roads soonest. :) All the best from the lake. Jens & Michelle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lar_Coone...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little nugget of quiet wild beauty ”
Reviewed February 27, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is in the middle of the lake one of two, we were greeted by stunning views of the lake and Killarney national park, the cottage is quaint and upon arrival we were made feel so welcome Michelle greeted us and I quote," I you need anything call me, food whatever!"
We arrived in bad weather and fire wood was all there for us we needed nothing. As a family from Ireland we thought this house had a special charm, we had two young kids and they loved the place, it was fishing morning noon and night for me, open fire inside and outside a little cold for an outside fire I seen a BBQ wrapped up but it was too cold for us, We had an amazing time here with our family the short drive into kilorglan was so beautiful it was a pleasure to shop, I will say this place is amazing and given the opportunity would go back tomorrow, loved it !!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2017
Thanks for the fabulous review! Wonderful you enjoyed it so much. Hopefully we'll have the chance to host you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing