We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Location, Adventure, Pampering - do not pass this place by!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We stayed here recently and had the most wonderful time. We availed of the Adventure & Pampering package they had and it just ticked all the boxes. The location is amazing, service outstanding - they couldn't do enough for us. We had adventure filled days which prepared us nicely for the fabulous food that was on offer every evening. If you want to stay in place that makes you think about the next time you are going to come back as soon as you leave, then this is it!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roscoe2007Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

spent 2 nights there recenty with my wife . what a location overlooking the lake . superb food and very very friendly staff . only 10 minutes from the magnificent dooks golf course . would highly recommend carrig house for a short break .

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublin_IrelandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My husband and I took a break away for one night. Our welcome was very warm, the service throughout was so friendly and caring. The food at dinner and breakfast was sublime. the House is full of charm and a busy buzz.. You have to reserve a room overlooking the lake as that is the real secret - Lake Caragh which is not seen from the road.
A real gem, to be re-visited. Frank and Mary the hosts really care about their guests, always there for advice on next leg of your trip etc.,
Well Done.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castleview70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Outside of Dublin, this was the most expensive place we stayed in during our trip, yet also the most disappointing. The hallways and rooms have a fairly shabby look, and we found our room upon arrival filled with flies. The restaurant offers live piano music and serves excellent (a bit overpriced) food – which seems to attract local patrons from Killarney, resulting in a densely packed dining room and some wait time even for hotel guests. The service was cordial, albeit slightly snobbish.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We loved this place. I would be forever content to fall to sleep at night to the lapping of the lake and wake every morning to its beauty.
We met Franck (the owner) who was charming, witty and more than helpful. We never met his lady wife and the restaurant was closed as we were very few guests at the end of the season, but I accept this as fully understandable and we never went short of anything. We were pointed in the direction of some very acceptable eating places and finally ate in a Church! A first time experience that we worshipped.
I work in interior design. The house is beautifully decorated and furnished.
The staff were very welcoming too, from the friendly homely lady who served us the best ever breakfast, through to the housekeeper and the cheerful receptionist.
We will return to this paradise one day, but it won't be soon enough.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FranceMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We stayed here for two nights last week and loved it! The room was beautiful and gave us an amazing view of the lake, which looks like a mirror, each night and morning.

The dinner downstairs was excellent except for the peat smoke rolling into the dining area, but all in all a great meal.The breakfast was also excellent.

Clare is a great hostess and the morning/afternoon hostess, Shoban (sp) gave us a great time-saving tip about the Shannon River ferry...THANKS LOADS!!!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank jake_white4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

In stark contrast to most bed and breakfasts in Ireland, the Carrig Country House was stilted, stiff and downright unfriendly. For example, the proprietors left us hanging for dinner on our arrival. Specifically, we spoke to them continually on our date of arrival, a Saturday, in an effort to obtain directions and once in Killorglin, locate the inn. When we finally arrived at 6:30 p.m., we asked about dinner and were told that they were fully booked for dinner with customers not staying at the inn. We were then forced to turn around and drive back to town, and attempt to find a restaurant that would take us at the last minute on a Saturday night -- no small doing. Most annoyingly, in none of our telephone conversations that Saturday did they mention that we should stop for dinner before coming to their inn, given that they were fully booked. In addition, the proprietors made our family feel "unwelcome" in many small ways, despite that our children are incredibly well behaved and caused no inconvenience to them or other guests.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank familytraveler526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caragh Lake
12.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
17.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ard na Sidhe Country House
Ard na Sidhe Country House
#1 of 2 in Caragh Lake
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range: $119 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing