We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay with beautiful lake view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay with beautiful lake view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here over the October bank holiday weekend. We received a lovely welcome and were shown to our beautiful room. We then enjoyed some tea and home made cake/biscuits in front of the fire while the wind howled outside. There are two sittings for dinner. We rambled downstairs quite early for the later sitting, and enjoyed a drink while we reviewed the menu. There is a good choice to suit all tastes,and we enjoyed beautiful food both nights, including wonderfully fresh fish, succulent beef and lamb and irresistable desserts. Breakfast is a similarly impressive affair with a large selection of hot food made to order. The service throughout our stay was fantastic, everyone was so friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend Carrig House for a relaxing weekend, with peace and quiet, away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaverandLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    19
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
336 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

After lots of searching for a plce to spend 2 nights on the Ring of Kerry, I came across this piece of luxury. It looked good online, had very good reviews, was private yet close to many of the tings my group wanted to see and do, on a lake, had a restaurant, etc... Everything went up several notches as soon as we arrived and checked-in. This mus be one of the ver best Counry Houses Hotels in Ireland - reminded us of similar ones we had experienced in Wales, Scotland and England's Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales!! First Class in all respects - there are many different sitting rooms and parlours both large and small and most with a cozy fireplace, a beautiful lake, a very nice garden and walk down to a lakeside dock. On may also lounge in outdoor chairs available on the lawn in front of the rooms overlooking the lake. It is full servcie any time of day the way it seems, with refreshments, and beverages of any kind all day and evening. The restaurant is top drawer as is the management and ownersship team. It was so nice and the food was SO excellent that we decided to dine here on both of our evenings and so pleased that we did. We had a wealth of area information to study along with the great guidance of the owners, who have been here a long time and KNOW what to do and HOW to do it!! We hav no hesitation giving this counry house our highest marks overall - Ireland & Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here only one night as a sort of rest stop for us as we drove around the entire island of Ireland. The house is beautiful with an amazing view of the lake. We ate dinner there that night and the food was superb, however the dining room was unbelievably hot. In all fairness, Ireland was experiencing an out of the ordinary warm season. When we got back to our room to go to bed we were dismayed because the hotel warns guests that midges are a problem there. They advise not opening the windows while the lights are on, but once they are out it's ok to open them. We found the hotel to be just a bit too posh for our liking, but it was alright for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We wanted to dine outside of Killorglin town during our visit to Puck Fair and this lovely Guesthouse/Restaurant was recommended to us. The Michelin inspectors need to call here as the standard of food is on par with Michelin-starred Chapter One in Dublin. To what we could see, most of the food is locally sourced and the service is friendly and efficient. The relaxing atmosphere was exactly what we needed after a hectic day at Puck Fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaleCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for 3 nights in September, we would certainly recommend Carrig Country House to all our friends and family back here in England.

Very pleasant stay, comfortable with excellent views and superb service and delicous food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alecbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is a place to feel comfortable, old school and yet laid back. The owners are constantly trying to make you enjoy the stay. The lake views are breath-taking. Breakfast was really good and so was dinner. The drawing rooms were cozy and the gardens are pretty yet not big. The only downside was that our charming room and bathroom could have used some TLC, and maybe also some more thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Carrig House is a gem, sitting in a beautiful garden by Caragh Lake. Small enough to be intimate, comfortable enough to make it hard to leave. The public spaces are cosy and elegant at the same time, with lots of little rooms to relax in. It is reminiscent of being a house guest for the weekend in someone's country home, with sofas and armchairs to sink into, a lovely fire in the drawing room, and lots of interesting books to stick your nose into. The service is warm, friendly and attentive in the best Irish style, and the owners are welcoming and helpful. The food was excellent, up-to-date and comforting at the same time. I know I've struck gold when I can't make a decision on what to eat, as it all is so tempting. Our room looked onto the lake and was charming, with a very comfortable bed. We will be back as soon as we can grab a weekend away from the kids. If you want peace and quiet, a little romance, and good food, this is the place to go. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fentons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caragh Lake
14.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
17.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
17.4 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
18.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
11.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Property: Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing