We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just had two nights at Carrig House and loved every minute. We needed a peaceful break and were here for a full blown wonderful Irish wedding locally which could have been exhausting. Staying at Carrig House was our saviour. Frank and Mary and their wonderful staff made our stay as easy and relaxing as it was possible to have been. Thay looked after our complicated travel arrangements, fed us wonderfully sometimes at odd times, and the drinks kept flowing if we felt the need with no bar in site. This is a country house hotel in the best sense of the words. Come here to be quiet and relax . There is a great sense of humour in this house, wonderful views, comfort and care and superb food. We will definitely be back for longer next time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spent a fabulous few nights in Carrig Country House. The setting is just wonderful and we were lucky enough to get a room with a lake view. The room was a good size and well appointed and the absence of of TV in it was an added bonus. The house oozed charm and is perfect for a relaxing break. The food was really good both for breakfast and dinner and the hosts were most helpful. The owner gave us a map for a walk around the lake which was one of the most beautiful walks I have had - will certainly be back .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

As you enter the private drive to Carrig Country House Inn it is like a botanical garden. Waterfalls, hydrangea, lilies, azaelas, foxglove and rhododendrons. The house is an authentic old Irish country home and has been kept in that style. What that means for you is 1) Peace and quiet, it is right on the shore of Lake Carrig. Yes, there is wifi in the parlor, but not TV in the rooms thank goodness 2) Antiques everywhere, you'll even find a wardrobe in your bedroom (for all you Chronicles of Naria fans, this could be the a professors house. 3) The bathrooms have pedestal sinks and lovely old tubs and beautiful wood floors 4) The beds are simply fantastic, the wallpaper throughout the Inn is reproduction period (think Morris) . 5) The grounds have intricate pathways through gardens going right down to the waters edge, there is even a croquet lawn and a lake front patio lawn with tables and chairs as well as a boat pier. 6) the chef is first rate (and I have had my own cooking show in TV and lived in NYC, I am a certified food snob). The food is locally sourced when possible and inspired. When was the last time you had cardamom in carrots or lemon-lime infused cream sauce on veal? The desserts are heavenly. I stayed here once 6 years ago and when it was time to go anywhere in the world to unwind I came to the Carrig Country House Inn. If you appreciate fine dining, period antiques and furnishings, extraordinary views, and personal attention from the Inn Keepers and staff this is your new home away from home. If you want a hotel where all,the rooms look the same, go to a no-charm Hilton. LOL. I will be blogging about the Carrig Country House Inn at www.ThridAge.com. Out of five stars I give this Inn 10 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, it is worth the extra charge. You will think you are one of the Crawley's f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyFranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is not 4 star.my room and bathroom was terrible. shabby old worn furniture a dirty carpet.
My bed was so hard i spent the hole night awake.
The wallpaper was so bad i could not believe they could mislead people that a lake view at a cost of145 euro.was 4 star.ther was no tv no only some cheapi radio.i was to stay 3 nights but cut my stay to one night. My phone coverage was terrible.the stair leading to the rooms were in need of a good hover. The drive way into the hotel was appalling.pot holes full of water. Thi should be a warning sign.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tarahellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A little bit of heaven tucked away in the most wonderful setting..peace, beauty, smiles & welcomes.The food was superb, my room was quite & extremely comfortable, the gardens, lake & surrounds were breathtaking. The service was first class. I particularly liked the very relaxed atmosphere all around the house where all of the staff were extremely helpful, upbeat and very professional especially Siobhan, Claire & Bridget. Frank is the perfect host and completely in tune with his guests and pays great attention to service. The scenery in Kerry is beautiful, but then everyone who has ever been there knows that. The Caragh Lake area is especially serene and magical and even the rain could not put a damper on it.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the garden which was lovely but the lake view rooms will make you want to stay lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed their with a tour group of students - absolutely amazing. The atmosphere was wonderful, warm and inviting. Great food and stunning location. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andiwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our recent visit to Carrig House was our third - surely something that speaks volumes for all that is attractive about this Eden on the banks of Caragh Lake; the welcome, the tranquility, the superb food and range of menu for breakfast and dinner; the personal attention from Frank the Proprietor ( a Clareman by the way), the courtesy and efficiency of his Secretary Siobhan (and the intern there this Summer Marian).
As we journeyed home after a third most pleasant stay we conclued that if the poet William Butler Yates had heard of Carrig House instead of Inisfree he would have written "I will arise and go now and go to Carrig House". And William Wordsworth of the lovely Lake District, would with a slight amendment have written:-
"Beside the lake, beneath the trees
Scenery, contentment and a gentle breeze"
We will be back.
Brendan & Mary

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms with a lawn overlooking the lake and beautiful Kerry scenery are a special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caragh Lake
14.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
17.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
15.7 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
894 reviews
17.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
17.2 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Property: Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing