We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Caragh Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lakeside Comfort”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Frank is a star. He is on hand from the excellent breafast served in a dining room that has superb vista over the lake until the excellent dinner (served in the same dining room) is over. It is an excellent centre from which to exp[lore the Rings of Kerry/Skellig and Beara knowing that there is a welcome glass of wine with which to retreat to your room with a view and a piping hot bath after walking in the magnificent area (probably in the rain). Forget crowded Killarney....stay at Caragh Country House.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    19
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our room was comfortable, the hosts were pleasant and very helpful, and the food was fine. A really special place to stay when traveling in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcock
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The personal touch provided by Frank and Mary was so welcome compared to the so called 5 star hotels. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about this establishment - it's more than a hotel! Keep up the goodl work Frank and Mary. Up the Kingdom!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seamus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend in the hotel which is nestled beside Caragh Lake. Frank, the owner and Mary his wife as well as their magnificent panoply of staff made this a memorable visit.

Of particular note is the cooking in the dining room. Superb. Also the staff were extremely solicitous of specific dietary requirements.

The bedrooms facing the lake are stunning and equipped with both antique furniture and four poster beds. The views are exquisite as is Mary's pride and joy, her garden!

The only negative I would see is that in some rooms the decor is a little tired and the cleaning staff are not as efficient as the wait staff. However they were equally friendly.

One abiding memory of the house are the many small sitting rooms for guest use which pepper the ground floor and the feeling of a home from home!

Room Tip: Ensure you ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

A warm welcome, the secluded setting, the sense of tranquility and quiet comfort pervading the whole property - right away we felt like wanting to stay longer. The attention by the owners and staff is very personal without ever being intrusive. The rooms are generous and well appointed and provide a spectacular view of the adjacent lake. And the restaurant provides very good breakfasts (included) and excellent dinners (not cheap, but worth every Euro), as well as a good selection of wines. All in all very recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

An interesting country house with a number of comfortable reception lounges, well-stocked with books and a stunning setting, over-looking a beautiful lake, close to the main route around the Ring of Kerry. Persuaded by some rave reviews we booked a two night BB package with dinner one night. Our expectations were knocked with the so-called superior room we had paid 120 euros pppn for. Yes we had the lake view but had not bargained for torn wallpaper, stained walls and a dirty bathroom. We rejected the room in favour of the only other available as that bathroom was marginally cleaner. However, this room also showed signs of neglect, was not luxuriously furnished, as suggested in the hotel blurb, and the carpet sample covering a nasty looking stain did nothing to quell our shock and frustration at getting it so wrong. We were being over-charged for a room that was patently not superior and was shabby. Standards did not improve and carpets appeared un-hoovered during our stay. The solution to our request for the bathroom door to be fixed (it would not close so privacy was limited) was the provision of a 7lb weight! Very classy; if I had had a screwdriver with me I could have fixed it in moments.

In our opinion these issues, which we raised with the owner, were legitimate but the response we received was unsatisfactory; our room was "the luck of the draw". Our bill was reduced, by a 28 euro wine charge, which although unsolicited was welcome. It however failed to assuage our disappointment.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not allocated room 5 or 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wildrovers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in May 2011 and while weather was foul the Carrig House was superb.The welcome from Siobhan /Frank & Mary was the perfect start.The House is very tastefully decorated,there are lovely rooms for reading, playing card games tucked away on the ground floor.Fires blazing in two rooms made it really relaxing.Lovely restaurant overlooking garden and Carragh Lake.Food was really good with great choices for breakfast and dinner.The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.We had a room overlooking the garden and lake with superb views.The size of the room was good with lounge chairs to relax and a big 6ft bed which was comfortable,seperate bath and shower.We will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorkCarmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caragh Lake
14.7 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
17.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
15.7 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
894 reviews
17.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
610 reviews
17.2 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrig Country House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrig Country House & Restaurant

Property: Carrig Country House & Restaurant
Address: Caragh Lake | Killorglin, Co. Kerry, Caragh Lake, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Caragh Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caragh Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Carrig Country House & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrig Country House & Restaurant is a 4 Star Country House Hotel & Restaurant. We are situated on the shores of Caragh Lake, 1 mile off the famous Ring of Kerry route. This Victorian Manor sits on acres of mature gardens and boasts over 978 different species of plants, and has its own private jetty on the lake. The Lakeside Restaurant which is renowned for it's wonderful food and ambiance has won many culinary awards and critical acclaim, non resident diners are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Carrig Country House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrig Country House & Restaurant Ireland/Caragh Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing