We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Irish hospitality & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here when driving around Southern Ireland, made the booking online and we were very warmly greeted at reception ended up chating for ages about our travels and the local area which my partner has some connection. The B&B had great views of the rugged Irish Atlantic coastline and the surprisingly tranquil harbour, while the room was small it was nice and clean typical B&B. The restaurant was not operating but we were given instructions to another just down the road. Breakfast was superb and typical of Irish hospitality that nothing is to much trouble.
Their statement on their website "Come as a guest and leave as a friend" is absolutely true!

Room Tip: All good ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiPaulNewPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 109 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went it harbour house for a break from our own. Usiness. We had a wonderful stay at harbour house, so relaxing. Sandra at reception gave us such a warm welcome, we felt at home straight away. John in the restaurant was so friendly and the fresh fish seved was just gorgeous not to mention the view from all angles. Ronnie the owner was so natural and relaxed. This was what iRish hospitality should be all about. We will be back once we get a break again

Miriam & Pat Mulcahy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballinwillin_House
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This place is ranked 5 out of 8 Castlegregory B&B and Inns.
All I can say is I won't go to the place which is in the 2nd half of any ranking any more.
We spent one night at the Harbour House at room nr 6. The room was tiny and not very clean. The bathroom was all over in dust. Window in bathroom was broken - easy to open but really difficult to close. I should also mention insects on corridor (see photo).
They were praising their Polish chef, so we decided that we will give it try, but to be honest... food was overpriced and most unsatisfactory. Breakfast was tiny and in instalments - had to wait for toasts for ages while the rest of full Irish breakfast was getting colder and colder.
Only good part was the ocean from both sides.
Anyway, look around for another B&B and get a much nicer stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rost333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The location couldn't be better - ocean on both sides! The hosts are so friendly and can entertain you for hours with interesting and humorous stories. Their statement on their website "Come as a guest and leave as a friend" is absolutely true! The room was fine, the shower was good, and the breakfast great. The only reason we gave it 4 out of 5 (rather than 5) is because of the sink. It must have been air in the line or something, but the water would "spit" violently, and we were always getting splattered wet.That would certainly not keep us from going back, though. My husband had a scuba diving lesson in the pool and LOVED it. He's hooked! We absolutely recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownBread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Nice views of harbour and countryside. Excellent food. Helpful staff. Nice lounge area with comfortable furniture. Has pool & sauna, though we didn't use. Does have squeaky floors in the hallway, but only noticed it when we were walking on it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtsterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpfull magnificent views from bedroom but rooms could do with attention with regards cleanliness,carpets need chainging. Loud creaking floorboards along the hall to the bedrooms. overall we had a good experience Great place to go off season.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxbertCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

14 years of traveling and staying in all types of accomadation.... This was by far the worst experience ever. The food, the staff, the premises, the hygiene, everything.....
And I don't mean facilities or location..... Hot water is paramount in any accomadation... None on the night of our arrival and none on the following morning following a terrible cheap quality breakfast. We were fobbed off morning and evening my the staff and then the owner.....
Worst thing is we were advised not to stay there.....
BE WARNED !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DonoghMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
15.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
5.3 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
429 reviews
8.4 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
164 reviews
11.8 mi away
Strand @ Inch Beach
Strand @ Inch Beach
#5 of 8 in Annascaul
54 reviews
8.0 mi away
O'Connor's Guesthouse
O'Connor's Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Cloghane
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour House & Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour House & Leisure Centre

Address: Scraggane Pier, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range: $86 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour House & Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour House is a family run B&B and has 15 individually styled bed rooms, all en-suite. Good food, a comfortable bed and leisure centre can be found in many hotels in Ireland, but it is unusual to find them in a guest house. It's own indoor heated swimming pool, gym, Sauna and its Islands Seafood Restaurant makes it a ideal location for a break. Panoramic views of the breath-taking scenery of the Maharees Islands is on your door step and your hosts promise you good Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Harbour House & Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour House & Leisure Centre Hotel Castlegregory
Harbour House And Leisure Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing