We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Belief”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
New Zealand
17
Reviewed May 16, 2005

My Husband and I stayed at the Shores for 3 nights on a 7 day tour of Southern Ireland. We were absolutely delighted with every aspect of the home. Annette has attention to detail and every room is a delight to be in. The decor is top of the range with style and comfort. The breakfasts were among some of the best food we have had anywhere else in the world, along with presentation the food was wholesome and so beautifully presented on the very finest of dinnerware. The evening meal Annette herself prepared was also fabulous. Annettes family are a pleasure to stay with and very welcoming. I would totally recommend their B & B to anyone travelling in the area. I am from New Zealand and have every intention of recommending it to my friends that travel to that part of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 430 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Salina, Kansas
17
Reviewed April 5, 2004

The experience at The Shores is beyond a five star rating (in fact this may be in a category of its own). Annette has exquisite decorating taste and her meals were gourmet and the view was superb. If possible, base your travels from her location - this stay was even better than staying at Dromoland Castle.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2004

Shores Country House is outstanding. A gem in the outskirts of Castlegregory. A bit difficult to find and unassuming but once you step inside, it's breathtaking. Extraordinarily well appointed. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The hostess is wonderful and her hospitality and charm alone make the stay terrific. The meals are out of this world as you dine and look out onto the ocean. It's on the other side of Dingle and makes for a nice getaway if you wish to keep a homebase away from the bustle of the village.

9  Thank PJPCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
630
Reviewed September 23, 2003

We just returned from a trip to Ireland and spent one night at The Shores while touring the Dingle Peninsula. It's a beautiful place with very well decorated rooms - very homey. Beautiful furnishings and accessories. The breakfast was fabulous and the innkeepers were extremely hospitable. The views from the front and back of the house were breathtaking! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2003

We just came back from a 9 days trip in Ireland and our stay at the Shores was fantastic. We stayed in 2 different rooms due to a reservation mix-up and I have to stay that both rooms were wonderful. THe decor and food is as good as any 4+ stars hotel in the states. Annette has background in the hospitality industry and is a wonderful hostess. This place is a must for any traveller in the Dingle area.

3  Thank carmenchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh
12
Reviewed March 18, 2003

The best B&B experience we've ever had!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2002

If you're planning a trip to Kerry, then this is the house to stay in. Situated just a few miles from Dingle this house is a great base for touring, walking, surfing - all that Kerry has to offer. The family are wonderful, and provide the kind of hospitality that makes you proud to be Irish. The house is exceptional, with one room better than the next, furnished to a very high standard and great attention to detail. And the breakfast - well, has to be seen to be believed. A meal fit for a king, and will set you up for the day, with everything you could wish for, all home cooked and prepared with skill and loving care. In my opinion, this accomodation is every bit as good (if not better) than any 5 star hotel.
DO NOT MISS IT!

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
24.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
897 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
8.5 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range: $139 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing