We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B in the world (at least so much of the world as I have seen)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed here for the first time earlier in the year - and we went back to Ireland last weekend just to eat breakfast at The Shores (and also because the surf was good).

In terms of the balance between cleanliness, service, quality, location, views and price - I actually do think it is the best B&B in the world. Ideally, it would have wider, harder beds. But, that is a peculiar taste of mine and I'll gladly trade that off for the rest of what The Shores has to offer.

I travel at least once a month for work and do one or two weekends a month for fun, so I see a few establishments. The Shores will satisfy everyone who would be looking to stay in a top end B&B or high quality boutique hotel. The place and Annette have genuine style.

I will definitely be back to The Shores on the Aer Lingus value fares to have a few more waffles (and a few more Gary Williams waves) before I leave Old Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_Andrew_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 432 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2008

What an amazing place. Comfortable surroundings and the rooms were amazing. Great views. Annette and her staff were amazing! Thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank bgass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Annette and her staff are superb. Beginning with our arrival until our departure, everything was perfect. Each morning our breakfast was delicious and plentiful, she has many selections. The view from our room of the beach was breathtaking. We relaxed very easily and re-charged very quickly. We will definitely return. Many, many thanks for a lovely holiday.

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Ciarrai409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This was our second stay at The Shores, our last being August 2006 ~ but I unfortunately did not get round to writing a review to tell everybody what a fantastic B&B this is !!
If your thinking of staying in the Dingle area, try The Shores
Country House, as it is not to be missed. A beautifully decorated
home owned by Annette and her family, who are all very helpful and hospitable. The house overlooks Brandon Bay which has absolutely stunning views. We stayed in a beautiful room which had a balcony that overlooked this lovely bay.
Annette's breakfast is 'to die for' ~ so don't hesitate to book if you feel like fantastic food and a quiet break in a B&B with 5 star quality, as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank treebirdsandafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

The Dingle Peninsula is not to be missed when visiting Ireland. Neither is The Shores B&B!

Annette O'Mahoney is the perfect host. Friendly but no invasive. A beautiful decorator. And terrific in the kitchen. And what a kitchen it is!!

What you see when you enter the home is far better than what you see when you drive up. It's slick and edgy and yet has a flavour of antiques and comfort. Our room was so gorgeous I could hardly pull myself away. The bedding is wonderful and the mattress is great. The window coverings are beautiful and really darken the room at night. The bathroom is completely tiled and has new fixtures. Only one glitch and that was there was no hot water for a shower one morning. But the whole space is immaculate.

Beautiful modern breakfast dishes on lush tablecloths....and oh yes, fabulous food served by friendly staff. It really couldn't have been better. I ordered something different every morning just to see how it would be presented. There are no disappointments here! They serve dinner as well but we were always off somewhere else so we never had a chance to try it.

The view of the Atlantic is not quite as close as I was expecting. You get a better view of the cows in the neighbouring field. But it's very pastoral and lovely. And there is a nice beach for an evening walk.

Don't miss the Conner Pass and Inch Beach nearby! And Commodum, a beautiful shop in Dingle.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at several B & Bs on our trip and can truly say this one was the best - hands down. Annette was very gracious and the rooms were beautiful. We had the room with the balcony and view of the bay and my mom had the room next door. Both were decorated beatifully. Upon arrival there was home baked bread in the room with tea. Breakfast was amazing - she even bakes her own croissants. She did everything she could to make our stay pleasant - and recommended a great pub for us to go to. It is a bit off the beaten path but well worth it. Annette arranged for transportation for us into town so we did not need to worry about driving. Incredible hostess, beautiful rooms, amazing breakfast!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jobean2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We found The Shores in an old B&B book, and stopped on the way to Dingle. From the moment you walk in, you are treated like royalty. Annette is a gracious host who sees to every detail. The room was immaculate, filled with antiques and had a balcony with sweepng views of the sea. The bed was very comfortable with ultra-fine linens and towels. Breakfast was also excellent with a choice of various times. We were disappointed dinner service has been suspended as there is really no real choice for food nearby. Thomasons down the way had just ok food, and seemed to be very overpriced for off-season April. A simple meal without alcohol was $75 US dollars. The only negative was Annette's recommendation of her "friend's" B&B in Kinsale. We found most B&B's anxious to recommend a "Friend" . The place recommended was definately NOT what was promised, i.e. - no view, and average at best. If you are not on an itinerary - don't book ahead. In April, there are PLENTY of hotels, B&B's empty.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainerRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 10 in Dingle
1,023 reviews
10.8 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#4 of 10 in Dingle
477 reviews
10.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,170 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#7 of 75 in Dingle
395 reviews
10.6 mi away
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Ballydavid
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range: $147 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing