We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingle Peninsula's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dingle Peninsula's Best”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

\We just returned from a three week trip around Ireland ending with five days in Castlegregory on the Dingle Peninsula. Just by luck we stayed at The Shores Country House, a B&B run by Annette O'Mahoney. If you enjoy upscale accommodations run by a gracious gal with style this is THE place for you. The home is gorgeous, overlooks the strand across the road, down a gentle slope. She has great decorating style, serves different delicious breakfasts to your selection every day and goes out of her way to help you locate things of interest nearby. Bed linens are top of the line and rooms have rich. heavy darkening drapes. We hated to leave this luxurious yet so comfortable B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor king bedroom overlooking the strand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giselle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
106
199
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Absolutely amazing place. The food was excellent and the hosts were very courteous. The location is right on the water and not too far away from the Dingle drive. Make sure to arrive during the day though as this place can be very hard to find at night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit - two nights. First time we only stayed one night and vowed to come back and stay longer. Exceptional breakfast includes waffles, French toast or traditional eggs. Annette's daughter made us homemade tomato soup after we arrived too late for dinner nearby. Beautifully decorated home surrounded by the family farm. Don't miss a stop in the garden! Flowers are beautiful inside and out! Extra touches like cotton balls, Q-tips and soft towels are much appreciated. Sea views of wind surfers and the beach are awesome. All rooms have sea views. We're coming back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here a few nights ago and enjoyed ourselves. The home is very nicely decorated and the host was kind. It had a different feel from many of the other B&B's we stayed at (a little more formal). It may not be everyone's taste but I found to be very well looked after and sparkly clean. We overlooked the water and it was beautiful to wake up to in the morning. A bit isolated but restaurants are not too far. The highlight was definitely breakfast and I'm fairly certain the French Toast was the best I've never eaten. Fruit and eggs were quite nice as well.

Room Tip: If you get a chance, pop your head in the kitchen (its gorgeous!). And any room facing the water is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We looked forward to staying at this 5-star establishment and found it slightly lacking. The home was beautiful, the furnishings were excellent but upon arrival we felt like we were rushed into our room and that the hostess was too busy to deal with us. Her B&B was completely full but we were not offered any tea or coffee upon arrival. When we called to check availability, we were not informed that it would be 2 twin beds. It did meet our needs but we would have probably went somewhere else if we would have known. Breakfast was good and the staff was nice. We found much nicer places to stay that were less stars that treated us better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Shores CPuntry house is an amazing little place over looking the beach and beside mount Brandon.

The service came with a smile and no request was too much. I have dietry requirements and Annette and her team were not phased by this and more than happy to accomadate my needs.

If your looking for something to do during your stay dont be shy to ask the team they are a wealth of knowlege of things to do in the area and surroundings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmMcB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is our fifth visit to this lovely home. We always stay with Annette when we visit lovely Ireland. The rooms are better than some there three times the price. The food and bedding are exquisite. Hospitality is first rate and the location is lovely. Can't Wait To go back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
10.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
10.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
24.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
11.6 mi away
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glaise Bheag
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Property: The Shores Country House
Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing