We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
1 review
“Best B & B in Ireland”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Shores Country House in Castlegregory , Ireland is an exquisite experience. The rooms are beyond comfortable, the decorations are tasteful and elegant and the food is wonderful. The ocean is outside the front door and the actual town is only minutes away. The owner, Annette is gracious and warm. I highly recommend anyone staying around Dingle to spend time at this B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This bed and breakfast is an absolute beauty. Although my wife and I stayed only one night, we loved it. We were very warmly welcomed by Annette and our room deserved to be on an interior design magazine. The views of the ocean are to dream for. Breakfast was served in a dining room that is more like a bistro than a house. We wished we had planned our trip differently and had stayed longer here. We would love to come back. To add to the magic, the Dingle peninsula has the most incredible scenery. Think blue ocean, green hills and sheep... like a movie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augusto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Deserves its 5 diamond/5 star ratings. Top of the line B & B. Room/bed were clean, comfortable, quiet and roomy. Views from front of property are of (somewhat distant, but picturesque) ocean surf with islands in the distance. Breakfast was delicious with good range of choices, all served to table rather than the usual buffet for cereals, fruits, etc. A fine reward for braving the Connor Pass. Good food in CastleGregory--just book well ahead. Hostess Annette O'Mahoney can help with booking--she has some clout with the local restauranteurs.

Room Tip: All rooms are good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjohn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Shores Country House was our favorite place to stay during our visit in Ireland. The home was clean and beautiful. Annette was extremely friendly and helpful. She recommended a great place for dinner and was interested in our travel plans. The breakfast was AMAZING and the woman who prepared and served us was also very friendly and helpful. Very glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We only stayed at The Shores for one night, but it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever stayed. The house is lovely (Annette has great taste) and our room was spacious and extremely clean. We got to The Shores in the evening after being lost for a while and we were really tired and hungry. Annette gave us a great dinner recommendation and we took a walk down by the beach and it was perfect! Breakfast was delicious and next time we come to Ireland we want to stay at The Shores the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a great place to stay on the Dingle Peninsula. Annette was a wonderful host who was more than happy to give us ideas of what to check out in the area. It was reasonably priced and included a delicious breakfast. My husband and I regret that we didn't stay for dinner her cooking was the best we had on the trip. I would highly recommend this B & B and plan to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is not your regular bed and breakfast but an amazing home with a fantastic view, impeccable decorating and Annette who is professional as well as friendly and helpful. Having been to many B & B's this one takes the experience to a new level! It was grand!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
10.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
24.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
11.6 mi away
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glaise Bheag
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Property: The Shores Country House
Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing