We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“The Best”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The people at The Shores really know what they are doing. In my experience this is the best B & B ever. The location is great and overall the place is excellent. This B & B is spotlessly clean and great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
108
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were there in November 2012. Everything is superb from this country house. Highlight for my cousins trip in Ireland. The breakfast itself worth the accommodation price. ah, just wonderful -every detail!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mshahaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful, away from the crowd, sitting with perfect view of ocean. 3 single ladies, but they quickly added extra, confortable bed. Lots of local charm nearby and great Ireland shore & cliff views. Annette and staff were wonderful, in a very difficult business. House and grounds beautiful and full great breakfast.

Room Tip: all great, ours overlooked the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pam3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

THis B & B is a must in County Kerry, Castlegregory area, Ireland.

Another couple along with my husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in October, 2012. 2012. Annette greeted us graciously when we arrived late at night traveling from Dublin. Every room is decorated perfectly and beds are very comfortable. Nice size bedrooms, great view to the sea and Annette is the perfect host. She gave us advice on what to see the Dingle Penisula, since we had a short time to tour the area. Breakfast was outstanding and individualized with our choices from the menu. THe dining room overlooks the sea. THis elegant house should be featured in a magazine. This is a 5 star home to experience when you travel in this area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, view the sea or the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BijonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
560 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This is the fifth time we have stayed at The Shores over a period of 10 years and six trips to Ireland. When we come to Ireland we plan our itinerary around staying at The Shores because it is so comfortable, nicely furnished and relaxing. The host Annette is charming, friendly and wonderful at recommending things about the area but even better is that she anticipates what you might want before you know you want it! There are so many small touches that add up to a superlative stay. The location overlooking the broad strand and pounding surf is therapeutic; in our room we could settle onto a sofa facing the water and simply enjoy it. We were presented with an extensive breakfast menu from which to order and the food was outstanding. This is well worth its five stars--we have told many friends and relatives to make this experience a part of their Irish journey.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I, along with our best friend, spent 3 nights at this extradinary home in September-we just returned home! Annette is such a gracious and elegant lady! Her home reflects this, as well as her attention to detail. Beautiful meals-great rooms-a nice drive to Dingle, and the surrounding area, and great dinners in Castlegory-a picture perfect Irish town.
I would stay again and again! Thank you, Annette.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if you want one-only a bit more in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We loved our stay at The Shores Country House. Our room was beautiful, the bed was comfy and the breakfasts were wonderful! When we arrived, we were greeted by charming Annette & the lovely aroma of Annette's special home baked bread. Breakfast choices were exceptional and the dining room overlooks the sea and beautiful gardens. This home belongs in a magazine! The ride to/from Dingle is through the dramatically beautiful Conor Pass which is pretty scary at night so don't plan on any pub crawls before returning to the B&B.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room with the balcony. Gorgeous views through the front and side windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb60565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
10.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
24.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
11.6 mi away
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
Gorman's Clifftop House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glaise Bheag
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Property: The Shores Country House
Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing