We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shores Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We have traveled to Ireland three times and this is, without a doubt, the finest B&B we have ever been a guest in. The view, decor, room size, food, cleanliness and friendliness of Ms. O'Mahony and her staff are without contest. Unfortunately we arrived late in the day and were unable to fully appreciate the area, but our trip to Fiztgerald's Pub and the Bistro have convinced us that we need to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineOconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

Both the accommodations and the hostess were exactly what I would imagine a perfect B&B experience to be. Given the opportunity, I would return to Annette's delightful retreat and base my entire visit to Ireland from her B&B. It was THAT lovely. Annette exemplified the kind of hospitality that honors the Irish tradition of a warm welcome to traveling Americans. Both her arrival tea and delicious breakfast reflected her culinary skills. One of the best meals of our journey was at the restaurant/pub of her recommendation. A memorable day on the Dingle peninsula ended in a splendid stay at The Shores Country House in Castlegregory.
Wishing the same wonderful experience for other travelers.... Elaine

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

After reading the reviews I had my hopes set pretty high. I could not believe how much nicer The Shores Country House is compared to any B and B that I have stayed at. Every room looks like it is from a catalog and the views are also amazing. It is nicely located for trips into Dingle, Tralee or Killarney. There is a nice nine hole links course just down the street next to beach. I couldn’t imagine going back and not staying there. It is the kind of place that where ever you go after you are always comparing it to.

Room Tip: Try them all or at least ask to see them. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChadID06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

we just returned from a week in southern Ireland and this was our favorite B and B experience; Annette is so gracious in meeting your needs, breakfast is out of this world, and she has great suggestions for dining right in the local area to experience the best from the sea! and what a beautiful view right from your bedroom window; must add to your itinerary!

Room Tip: our room on the first floor, facing north, was a gorgeous view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marietta130_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Again, Annette exceeded our expectations. The Shores is an immaculate B&B, centrally located to Dingle and Tralee. We have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed with anything. The food is excellent, rooms spotless and Annette and her husband wonderful. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpddiver6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Shores is an elegant but comfortable house to stay in. Hands down, it was the best decorated B&B we stayed at during our 2 week trip. Annette O'Mahony makes you feel like you are her personal friend that has come to visit. We were there for Good Friday & a lot of the public places were closed. Annette prepared us one of the best dinners we had while visiting Ireland. Our room was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the country side. Annette gave us a tour of kitchen (state of the art!!!) and shared a couple of recipes with us. It was an experience we will always remember.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LYNDA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My husband Jay and I along with a friend stayed at this B&B and had an incredible time. The service was impeccable. Everything about our stay was perfect including the room, the food, our host and the scenery. The bedroom was so elegantly decorated and comfortable that I didn't want to get up and our breakfast was so delicious and served in a beautifully decorated dining room. My husband I both wished we could have stayed longer.

Also, there is free wi-fi and plenty of parking if you decide to drive.
Tip: fly ryanair into Kerry, rent a car (cheap) and drive the countryside along the peninsula, it's the best time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
10.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
24.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
10.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
897 reviews
10.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
8.5 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Country House

Address: | Cappateige, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range: $138 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Shores Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Country House offers 5 star luxurious accommodation.It is owned and run by Annette O'Mahony along with her husband. We overlook the longest beach in Ireland (approx 26 miles) and at the rear of the house are a range of mountains, Mt Brandon being the second highest in Ireland. Pamper yourself in our award winning luxurious home offering "Laura Ashley" style 5 star accommodation , most rooms have panorimic sea view , all en suite some with bath, king size beds, sat elite t.V., Tea & coffee, hairdryers and telephones,beautifully decorated with antiques Delightful breakfasts are served in our dining room overlooking Brandon Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Shores Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shores Country House Hotel Castlegregory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing