We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Friendly Service”
Review of The Village Bistro - CLOSED

The Village Bistro
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Here is a list of licensed restaurants in Castlegregory and their phone numbers. I would like to get the Village Bistro listed as other potential customers may like to review in advance! Restaurants (licenced) Tomasíns Bar & Restaurant Stradbally Castlegregory (066) 7139179 Spillane's Bar Fahamore Castlegregory (066) 7139125 Ned Natterjacks West Main St Castlegregory (066) 7139491 The Village Bistro Castlegregory (066) 7139878 The Cottage Restaurant Cappaclough Camp (066) 7130022 Ashe's Restaurant Camp (066) 7130133 Tralee Bay Holiday Village Bar & Restaurant Aughacasla (066) 7139033 O'Connor's Bar & Restaurant Cloghane (066) 7138113 Mullalys Bar & Restaurant Brandon (066) 7138154
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Value and Friendly Service”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had dinner here in May while I was hiking the Dingle Way. Barry was very gracious and kind. It was late and most of the restaurants were closed and Barry agreed to stay open. The food was excellent and we stayed and enjoyed a few more pints and chatted with Barry and watched soccer on the flat screen. Good times. Strongly recommend if you're in the Maharees or anywhere in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SachBalag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gracious and Yummy”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Rolled into Town late and no restaurants open. The bartender at Fitzgerald's Pub called over as the Bistro was closing and they agreed to stay open to serve me, my wife, sister and brother in law. The food was very good, service kind and understanding and we were not rushed at all. These are the type of people that are such great ambassadors for Ireland and the reason we keep going back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaineOconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wavre
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and good cooking.”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I think this is the best restaurant in ireland. And by the way not expensive. And original plates. very good and well served.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My son and I recently returned from seven days in Ireland, and I have to say that our experience at The Village Bistro was one of the highlights of an unbelievably wonderful trip!
We arrived later in the evening and were very pleased to find the restaurant was open, when most were not. We were met with a warm and friendly atmosphere after a long day on the road. The restaurant was extremely clean and the menu had a large variety of choices. The food was well prepared, well presented and delicious! The owners made us feel very welcome and truly at home. They could not have been more friendly or hospitable.
I am very glad that we did not read any of the negative reviews before we took our trip or we might have missed out on a wonderful dining and social experience.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to experience good food in a wonderful atmosphere. This will be a MUST on our list if we are lucky enough to return in the future!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KurlyKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't go here”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Food barely adequate, understaffed, don't go here, there are better choices in town

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Bistro also viewed

Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing