We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kerry Favourite”
Review of Spillane's Bar

Spillane's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Spillanes is a long established family- run, family friendly, Bar - Restaurant on the scenic Maharees Peninsula. They have been awarded the prestige of the Seafood Circle Award for several years as well as a listing in the Georgina Campbell Guide to the best of Ireland. Spillanes menu offers a wide range of dishes with the emphasis on local seafood, fresh vegetables grown locally in season,Wonderful Irish beef , typical Irish traditional fare, as well as daily specials, Pizzas, homemade burgers and homemade desserts, a good wine list and friendly staff. There are sea and mountain views and outdoor tables for dining when weather permits. During the busy summer season it is advisable to book your table in advance, although Spillanes will try to fit you in if at all possible.
Mallow, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Kerry Favourite”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Been going here for years, great food, great staff and great atmosphere. Also highly recommend a lovely 99 afterwards :) Can't wait to go back again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bugaboo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSpil, Manager at Spillane's Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Glad to hear that we're a Kerry favorite;)
Thanks for the lovely review and hopefully it will always be as good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    75
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Food & service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I love this place & eat here everytime I visit. You couldn't fault the food it is always top notch, good proper Grub.
I have been coming here with my family over 30 years & I hope I get another 30 more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MayBme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSpil, Manager at Spillane's Bar, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hi MayBme
Thanks, and definitely hope that you continue coming for at least another 30 years!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Irish pub foods”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am so glad we were recommended to come here. The food was just delicious: mussels in white wine sauce, trio of different sausages and mash, etc. It was getting chilly outside and we got to sit next to the warm fireplace and drink our beers. It was just perfect for what we wanted on a cold night in October in Ireland. Be prepared that you will have to drive for a while to get there. You will think "it can't possibly be this far", but keep driving down the road. You'll find it and have a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dirtydirtyretro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great food and tasty pints”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

During a recent visit to Ireland, my girlfriend Jennie and I, spend one night at Castlegregory at a local B&B (The Shores Country House). Our B&B 's owner recommended Spillane's bar and we were not dissapointed. We had Delicious food, tasty pints and our hostesses were very friendly and their recommendation were spot on. The place is in a spit of land that juts out the northern shore of the Dingle peninsula and it's a bit out of the way but definetely worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al_Morataya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Favourite”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is an annual treat for me and my family. Every time we visit Castlegregory we make at least one visit to this restaurant. The staff are very friendly and nothing is ever too much!!! Betty in particular is a Star!!!!The menu is excellent and the specials board is always very varied. Never fails to provide an excellent evening for my family.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spillane's Bar also viewed

Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
Castlegregory, Dingle Peninsula
 
County Kerry, Province of Munster
 

Been to Spillane's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing