We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent b&b stay”
Review of Castle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlegregory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle House
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Maryland
1 review
“Excellent b&b stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sheila and Brendan were charming and attentive hosts. They graciously accommodated our early arrival and Sheila offered coffee and tea with fresh-baked cake. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. The property was lovely, well-appointed and maintained with ample parking. We enjoyed reading in the sitting room with Brendan's well-attended fire. There were excellent restaurants: Pisces, across the street, and Spillane's a few miles away. Sheila and Brenda had a wealth of information about this beautiful area. This is a perfect place to stay to explore the Dingle peninsula a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
84
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our last night of walking the Dingle Way and what a fantastic way to finish. Sheila greeted us with delicious cake (straight from the oven) and tea which was served in front of a lovely warm fire. Castle House is in the centre of Castlegregory, a pleasant village. (Sheila recommended & booked us in at a restaurant just across the road for an evening meal which was also superb.) Our room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was out of this world - a vast choice too. My only regret was that I couldn't try everything. The porridge was the best I've tasted anywhere. Pancakes & fresh fruit to follow while my husband had omelette. Homemade bread & scones too - all delicious. It was outstanding. Sheila was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend Castle House to anyone & hope to stay there again some day. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

incredible place with everything you can imagine. Its like beeing in a dream. Lovely and abundant food, the best porridge ever! and clean, shriny and white rooms. Sheila and heer family are really nice! you can have a look also to the faram life.
Castlegregory is nice village with some interesteing pubs. (if you dont go in holy friday, all closed)
great end to the dingle way!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank magilau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I booked my stay with my fiancee in Sheilas based on a recommendation from my aunt. Everything was perfect from the delicious cake and tea on arrival to the georgous breakfasts which were very impressive. Sheila was very flexible and helpful. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angellionsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Castle House had the most delicious, abundant, tasty food of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland. Sheila even gave us pie with ice cream and tea on our arrival in the lovely common room which was completely unexpected. Her breakfasts are unbelievable - we could not believe the variety and quantity of food. Even on the second morning when we asked for smaller portions for fear of something going to waste, the portion was still huge (and we ate it all, again...it was too good not to!). We stayed in the front family room which was a bit small but comfortable The common room was wonderful and a great place to relax. Unfortunately they were having problems with the water when we were there due to the heavy rains and it was coming out of the tap brown. We didn't drink it but we had to ask Sheila about it. I wished she had mentioned something about it instead of us asking about it as we were travelling with children and it would have been good to know in advance. Overall though very comfortable and a good experience. The B&B was within easy walking distance to pubs and close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20TripReview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were greeted with tea and snacks. The rooms were large and bright. A very short walk to the ocean. The breakfast was tasty, the hostess was gracious- there when you wanted her, and not around when you didn't. Pretty much exactly what you want out of a B&B. Also, very affordable compared to some of the other B&B's we've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the first stop on our 6 day trip around Kerry and we're still talking about it!! We had such a wonderful experience in Castle House and if we're every back in CG we will definitely stay there again. Sheila is such a fantastic host. When we arrived we were welcomed with tea and a lovely fruit cake- I'm not a fan of fruit cakes but this was divine. Sheila kindly gave me the receipe for it and I'm going to have a go at itt! On out second night after we came home from dinner, Sheila kindly asked us if we wanted some fruit cake to have with tea in our room- my husbands face just lit up!!
We had a lovely big double room with a very comfortable bed. The room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in a lovely bright dining room and there was a very good choice of breakfast options. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and look forward to visiting again sometime in the future. If only all B&Bs were of this high standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
13.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
13.4 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
609 reviews
14.0 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
418 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 7 in Castlegregory
158 reviews
5.9 mi away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Maharees Road, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing