We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlegregory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle House
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Castle House had the most delicious, abundant, tasty food of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland. Sheila even gave us pie with ice cream and tea on our arrival in the lovely common room which was completely unexpected. Her breakfasts are unbelievable - we could not believe the variety and quantity of food. Even on the second morning when we asked for smaller portions for fear of something going to waste, the portion was still huge (and we ate it all, again...it was too good not to!). We stayed in the front family room which was a bit small but comfortable The common room was wonderful and a great place to relax. Unfortunately they were having problems with the water when we were there due to the heavy rains and it was coming out of the tap brown. We didn't drink it but we had to ask Sheila about it. I wished she had mentioned something about it instead of us asking about it as we were travelling with children and it would have been good to know in advance. Overall though very comfortable and a good experience. The B&B was within easy walking distance to pubs and close to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 20TripReview12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
82
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. We were greeted with tea and snacks. The rooms were large and bright. A very short walk to the ocean. The breakfast was tasty, the hostess was gracious- there when you wanted her, and not around when you didn't. Pretty much exactly what you want out of a B&B. Also, very affordable compared to some of the other B&B's we've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was the first stop on our 6 day trip around Kerry and we're still talking about it!! We had such a wonderful experience in Castle House and if we're every back in CG we will definitely stay there again. Sheila is such a fantastic host. When we arrived we were welcomed with tea and a lovely fruit cake- I'm not a fan of fruit cakes but this was divine. Sheila kindly gave me the receipe for it and I'm going to have a go at itt! On out second night after we came home from dinner, Sheila kindly asked us if we wanted some fruit cake to have with tea in our room- my husbands face just lit up!!
We had a lovely big double room with a very comfortable bed. The room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in a lovely bright dining room and there was a very good choice of breakfast options. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and look forward to visiting again sometime in the future. If only all B&Bs were of this high standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I didn't have a reservation - I was just driving by and knocked on the door. Sheila answered, welcoming me in like a friend she hadn't seen in a long time! My room was very small but comfortable and was able to get internet to make sure everything was alright at home. As everyone else says, Sheila's tea and cakes were wonderful. But most important was how welcome I felt especially traveling alone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auritania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was the last stop of our walk along the Dingle Way,and matched the standards set by all our other stays,starting with a lovely welcome by the Owner,she welcomed us to her beautiful home with a lovely drink and homemade cake.

Our room was a good size with a beautiful enormous bed,and nicely decorated.

Breakfast was fantastic,smoked salmon and scrambled eggs superb,plus the usual cooked breakfasts and a lovely fruit salad to start

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WALKTHEWORLD187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

From the oh-my-god-this-is-too-good-to-be-true fruitcake and tea on arrival to the extra yummy breakfast, there is no denying thé skills there, and that seemed to be everybody's opinion that Sunday morning, from fresh fruit and yogurt to pancakes or full Irish. The room we got was not too big but was nicely decorated. Great bathroom too with beauty products should you have forgotten yours. Small tv in room. Sitting room open for guests with some lovely books about Ireland and the area. Sure quality. Not to be missed

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was one of the most pleasurable B&B experiences I have ever had.Sheila was a wonderful hostess, offering the very best in warmth of Irish hospitality. The stay was most memorable. Beautifully appointed bedroom, a superb breakfast, not to mention a lovely welcoming afternoon tea on arrival. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlegregory
13.2 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
13.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
13.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 8 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beenoskee
Beenoskee
#3 of 8 in Castlegregory
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
Harbour House & Leisure Centre
#6 of 8 in Castlegregory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Property: Castle House
Address: Maharees Road, Castlegregory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlegregory
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Castlegregory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing