We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful base to explore this beautiful area”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old School

The Old School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School
Livingroom Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Old School
Livingroom
Dining Area
Patio
Inner Hall
Tralee Bay Bedroom
Tralee Bay Bedroom view
Ensuite Bathroom
Kerry Head Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Study / Supplementary Bedroom
Garden Bedroom
Restroom / WC
Kitchen
Utility
Enclosed Garden
Schoolroom 1
Schoolroom 2
Ballyheigue Beach
Ballyheigue Castle
Herry Head Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballyheigue, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BeatrixB
New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful base to explore this beautiful area”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We loved the Old School. The cottage is large and cozy, with breathtaking views. Opening the bedroom curtains on your first morning there will be an experience you won't forget. And there are cows outside. The cottage has all the necessities and is well-located for exploring the area. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larroquer...
Toulouse, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Perfect Base”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We selected The Old School for a vacation with family and friends based on the 5 Star review it had received from previous visitors and we were not disappointed. It lived up to it's previous reviews. The Old School is brimming with character, is well appointed and perfectly situated for trips throughout the region. The views are just breathtaking and we had multiple "aperos" looking out over the bay (yes, it did get even better after a few Ricards....!). You really could not hope for a better place for a quiet vacation.

This review would not be complete if I did not also mention Brendan (the owner) who was exceptionally friendly and helpful and also Mary (the housekeeper) who showed the various aspects of the school. Overall, a great experience and recommended to anyone considering a break to SW Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The weather but that's difficult to control
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Canada
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the wild atlantic way
Liked least: quality of the pots and pans, mattresses and sheets.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shaun M
Birmingham Uk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the The Old School”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family and I stayed at The Old School during the last week of April and had a fabulous time. Mary the caretaker gave us a warm and friendly welcome and then we saw the amazing views across the bay to the mountains and that just captivated all of us throughout our stay!
The house has so much character and is very spacious and well equipped, even in comparison to much more expensive rental properties that we have stayed in.
Ballyheigue is a great little village just 3 miles down the road with a choice of shops for groceries and some bars (although we did not visit any of the bars). The beach there is also fantastic with miles of sand, perfect for my 2 year old granddaughter to enjoy.
The WIFI was also very good and appreciated during our stay.
Brendan the owner has been friendly and professional throughout the booking process too.
All in all I would highly recommend The Old School and we certainly hope to visit again later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and comfort of the property + amazing views.
Liked least: 3 miles from town so had to use the car to visit shops and beach.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbergin31...
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a way to relax”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

staying here just outside the village was a great way to relax. it was easy to fee right at home, looking at the sea and thinking about nothing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“wonderful brilliant view on the sea and comfortable house”
Reviewed September 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the old school with four adults for two weeks. The house has a wonderful view on the Tralee Bay and the Dingle peninsula. You could injoy the view independent of the weather, of course, a sunny sky delivers the best view. The facilities of the house are good and compelete. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The environement of the house is very quite, only a few cars over the day , no plane and nearly no ships on the bay and really dark nights with a beautiful sky, wonderful.
On sunny days we missed a lit bit garden furnitures outside like a sunbed, because a normal chair on the terrace is not the best choice.
The housekeeper Mary lives nearby the house and helps immediately if you have any problems.
Overall the house is really recommendable!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H
Middletown, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing house, location and vacation”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked the Old School House for a family vacation in July. We are from Ireland but live overseas and this was a great opportunity to holiday in Ireland with our wider family. Often times, the reality doesn't match up to the advertising but the Old School House was all that and more. Amazing views from the house ... every day we could see the weather changing over the Dingle Peninsula and heading down to Banna Strand and Ballyheigue Beach. The house is in a very peaceful location but a short drive to town. Ballyheigue beach is of course beautiful and the town is just right for a family vacation. Lots to see and do in the surrounding areas if you choose. We were so happy with the house that we chose to spend a lot of time just relaxing there and enjoying the scenery from the patio.

The Old School House was incredibly comfortable with tons of character and lots of room for the family to hang out comfortably together without being on top of each other. It was an incredibly relaxing and peaceful location. We will definitely be staying there again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet break in a beautiful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of the house combined with the location
Liked least: Wished small things like cleaning supplies were fully stocked versus sparsely. Very minor niggle really, everything was perfect.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing