We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best scrambled egg in the world!”
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Ballyheigue B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Overall, a basic family run hotel. Rooms were nice but hotel corridors were outdated & could do with a spruce up. Staff were extremely friendly & accommodating. Breakfast was not officially served until 8am but staff ensured that we were fed at the earlier time of 7am before we set off for the Ring of Kerry. Delicious scrambled egg. It was perfect! Hospitality consider I would most definitely return.

(P.s. Ballyheigue beach is beautiful; if only the sun shone once in a while!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bead007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for White Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

We where there as part of a group
Rooms dates back to the 60s,restaurant staff rude. The pub is very nice and friendly,strange as it is part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benoitlemoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were on a road trip up the West Coast and Ballyheigue was our first stop and a memorable one. The Hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were really friendly and helpful. The Bar Staff and Musicians made us feel right at home. The "Craic" was great and the traditional music was brilliant with an open invitation for customers to join in.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ash-Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

UNACCEPTABLE
First, the location, an hour away from Killarney, meaning that two hours of each day is spent going over the same roads. Next, while, Ballyheigue is picturesque, it is isolated, depressed, lacking diversions, any sort of public transportation, and a less than ideal area to walk after night. The alcoholics that greeted us every time we stepped out the door only added to the seedy and sad nature of the area.

The rooms were heated by antiquated radiators that had not been turned on prior to our arrival, meaning that the room temperatures were in the 40s, verified by thermometer. Even when the heat was on, when and if it worked, the temperature only rose into the 50s. Considering it was in the mid-30s outside, this meant that you could never shake the chill. Even the dining area lacked heat. They rolled in a large quartz heater, but after 15 feet, even this failed to warm the room. Combined with a lack of hot water, our two days at the White Sands were chilled and miserable.

Since we were so isolated, this meant that the only dining option was the hotel's bar. The food was awful. Our first night in Ireland, and we were served an unappetizing version of Irish Lasagna. It's unidentifiable contents were not a great introduction to the area cuisine. Each meal they ran short of food. I guess considering the quality that might have been a blessing.

The rooms were outdated and unsafe. A table blocked the way to the exit in our hall, and a lamp had been added by the staff for "safety” as a replacement for the malfunctioning overhead light.

They staff seemed to be regularly inconvenienced by any request that was made of them.

If this is the best you can do, stay at home.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ibteach_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was supposed to be our annual holiday...we booked a 3 night super valu break so it was a reasonably priced trip for a family hit badly by the recession. wasn't worth the money though! Village doesn't have much to offer. Hotel is dated.On arrival we were shown to our room. It was a good size....double bed for us, 2 single beds for the kids and a cot for baby. On entering the room the smell hit us...clearly someone had been sick in the room...disgusting. The carpet was filthy. To give her due, the cleaning lady came in and explained she needed to hoover the room so we needed to leave. I asked her to sort out the smell. Anyway....when we got back the smell still lingered. I bit my lip and decided not to get annoyed for the kids sake. Then I went to the loo....Filthy. The fittings on the toilet seat were so rusted and had dirt ground into them. Later we found that after a shower, when the bathroom was damp this brown disgusting "stuff" leaked onto the seat and the floor.
We did sleep that night...all of us. That was some consilation. Breakfast was average to poor. Left for the day and came back that night for the kids bedtime. Turned out that the neighbours from hell had moved in. Banging doors and shouting until 2am. Unsupervised kids roaming the hallways waking everyone up. Residents bar was going till 4.30am!!! We were on the second floor and could have to sung along to every song it was so loud.
Following morn we complained about the noise. We were delighted to be told we'd be moved later that day. Came back from an outing to our "new" room. To be fair it was cleaner but a LOT smaller and only had 2 beds for 5 people!! We stayed put in our old room. Asked that the management ask the "neighbours" to be quiet! They must have as there wasn't a peep that night! Unfortunately The bar kept us ALL awake till 4am. 8am came and we had breakfast and got out of that dump as fast as we could. Stopped off in the nice clean Killarney before coming home. NO PLACE LIKE IT!! Do not stay in this hotel...worst i've ever been in

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SACCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

What an horrendous experience!Please for your own sake stay away!
Stayed in a room which felt like was in the middle of sub saharan Africa such was the temperature. When we complained we were meet with the suggestion of "try opening the window"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!seriously this was heat like no other. The next morning we overheard two employees laughing at the complaint we made during the night! Unfortunately for them they didn't realise we were listening attentively in the lobby!!!!!!!It turned out there was a boiler beneath the room which explained the heat. Needless to say we got no satisfaction or even the hint of a discount from the staff.....Also the noise outside the hotel from the downstairs bar made sleep before 3pm an impossibility
Truly awful hotel...HORRENDOUS...the worst I've come across...STAY AWAY!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CorkMugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 3 days in early July and I would have to say, without doubt, it has to qualify for the strangest hotel I have ever stayed in. Let me elaborate. We travelled to this hotel on a Super Value getaway trip arriving on a Monday and leaving on a Thursday.
On our way to Kerry, about half way there, we realised that we had forgot the booklet with the Super value tokens that we though that we might need to check in so I gave the hotel a ring. On the other end of the phone was a receptionist whom had the personality of a door, absolutely in no way friendly, welcoming, all the things that you would expect from a receptionist that answers telephone enquiries for a hotel.
Upon arrival, Ballyheigue is a tiny crack in the road, miles ffrom Tralee, about 1Hr from Killarney. Driving up to the hotel, the carpark was inaccessabile from the main street and we had to park on the streeet to check in. Upon check in, we met the friendly receptionist...man, I am not exagerating when I say that she had a scowl on her that we were actually afraid to ask where the lift was.
Ive read a previous review on tripadvisor that said this hotel is old world, that It definitely is. I really think that it would have been a top hotel in the 1960s but very little has been done to upgrade it.
The room itself was of moderate size and definitely old world wallpaper with pictures of cats, yes cats, on the walls. We specifically asked for a double room, and what did we get, two single beds, pushed together with a double duvet and linen trying to hide the fact that the double bed is actually two singles stuck together.
Every room was the same. How do I know, well during our 3 day stay we saw absolutely not 1 single guest and most of the rooms on our floor had their doors left open and as we walked past you can actually see the end of the single beds!!!!!
On our last night, at approx 7.30 we decided to go for a little ramble on the beach to discover that we had been locked in!!! Everybody had gone home, no receptionist and the front door was locked...Ended up escaping out a fire exit in the back of the hotel and had to get the owner of the pub next door to let us in upon our return!!!!
This place was absoluteily deserted, and I understand why!! Finally, upon check out, I went to reception and reception was empty and devoid of sign of any life. I rembled around the hotel finally finding a cleaner to check us out-wanted to pay with credit card and the only person in the hotel didnt know how to work the credit card machine so I actually had to myself use the credit card machine and I got my reciept on a postit!!!
If you liked the film called "The Shining", you will love this place.......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DrMicrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyheigue
0.1 mi away
Brassil's Guest House
Brassil's Guest House
#2 of 2 in Ballyheigue
25 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
Ballyroe Heights Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
882 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
618 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
656 reviews
9.8 mi away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#5 of 14 in Tralee
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: Ballyheigue, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballyheigue
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyheigue
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing