We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in Listowel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seanchai

The Seanchai
Ranked #12 of 20 Restaurants in Listowel
Cuisines: Cafe, Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Value in Listowel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Located on the Square in Listowel it is the site of the Writer's museum where for a very small entrance fee you can spend hours visiting special rooms dedicated to Irish writers, especially from Listowel and surrounding areas. Also the Listowel castle is a must-see and the tour is free and will not be forgotten. Finally the restaurant offers very good food at excellent value and Noreen will ensure that you have a good meal and after the meal a visit to the gift shop will provide a wide display of Irish treasures.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JohninIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to have lunch there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The staff are lovely and friendly. When ordered foods, it might take a little longer. But the foods are beautifully cooked. The view of the castle is lovely. When finish paying the foods. They give children sweets.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dee M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food, not much atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped in the little café adjacent to the museum for lunch and found it just average, but okay. The best thing it has going for it is the location inside the museum. We ate there because of the convenience. The prices were good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Happen to stumble on this little gem when I was having a tour of Listowel Castle. I was with my wife and 3 children and managed to get a meal...and "I MEAN" a "MEAL" for the 5 of us for less than 35euro. The staff were friendly, the facilities were clean. We took a tour of the writers museum which was an eerie but enjoyable experience, especially reading the original scripts of some famous Irish writers.The kids bought a few soverniers for themselves and their friends. Just overall a really lovely place to visit. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is visiting Listowel co.kerry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 880MartinS880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seanchai also viewed

Listowel, County Kerry
 
Listowel, County Kerry
Listowel, County Kerry
 
Listowel, County Kerry
 

Been to The Seanchai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing