We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Hosts and Super Loaction”
other travelers have booked this property
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Derry House - Heritage Town Listowel - Self Catering and only two minutes from town centre
Set in 3/4 of an acre - room for a small pony! Countryside feel yet still a town location
Located on a private road and 300 metres from the main road - Shannon Ferry is just 12 minutes away
Sitting Room with dining area, Free WiFi, SKY TV, DVD player
Spacious and comfortable sitting room with DVD player with a selection of CD's and books
Well equipped kitchen with adjustable height sink and hob for wheelchair users
View the sunset over Cnoc an Oir - The Hill of Gold
Bedroom 1 - En-suite and luxury King size bed
Bedroom 2 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 2 - Ensuite
Bedroom 3 - En-suite with luxurious King size bed and single bed
Bedroom 3 - En-suite also suitable for guests with disabilities
Join in a session in the local pubs - Bring your own instruments! A visit to John B's pub is a must!
We know a wee bit about music and dancing!
Listowel Golf Club - 2 minutes from here and the world famous Ballybunion Golf Links is 15 minutes
Fishing on the local River Feale - 2 minutes away
This is your ideal base for day trips throughout Kerry, Cork, Clare & Limerick.
From your home, you can day trip to Killarney and it's Lakes, Dingle and The Ring of Kerry
Kerry Airport is about 35 minutes from here and Shannon Airport is about 70 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Listowel, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
PeterStra...
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Hosts and Super Loaction”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Booked in to go to family wedding in Listowel. Due to unforeseen circumstances at last minute my wife and I could not travel but rest my family did. They were met with Betty and John and stated that they were the nicest people you could meet and nothing was too much to do. They even drove my family into the reception in 2 cars so they didn`t have to get taxis. This level of service would be unheard of in a large hotel. The house was lovely and spotlessly clean. The rooms are large and spacey and the house is only one mile away from the lovely town of Listowel. Once again thanks for all your help and kindness and hopefully we will return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fanastic service
Liked least: Nothing
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francelee
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful Home Away from Home”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

John and Betty are incredible hosts, who went above and beyond to accommodate us at very short notice. They were extremely friendly and hospitable; providing us with a thorough tour of the house and a "welcome tray" filled with biscuits, tea, and coffee. The house is incredibly homey, making it a true "home away from home". We enjoyed our stay at their beautiful home, and our only regret is not staying longer! Oh yeah -- and the beds were heavenly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jdowling7...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

John and Betty are wonderful host. From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed they are extremely warm an helpful.. Location was excellent and walking distance to center of town.. The house was beautiful and had everything you could imagine for day to day living. Plan on staying and visiting year after year..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark14285...
Hornchurch, Essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent house in a great location”
Reviewed June 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this house during Writers Week in Listowel. Our hosts gave us a great welcome and were very helpful throughout our stay. The house was very clean, tidy and comfortable, and the location made it ideal for our purposes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammylahy
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rolls Royce of self catering - best place I ever stayed in!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This house is absolutely beautiful - spotlessly clean and to be honest the photos do not fully capture how nice it is. The house is very spacious with plenty of room for a wheelchair to get around all the rooms. Bedrooms are really nicely decorated and comfortable-just like the rest of the house. Kitchen very well equipped with great attention to detail-anything that you could possibly need is provided. Finally, the owners Betty and John were extremely welcoming and helpful. All in all this is truly wonderful accommodation - the "Rolls Royce" of self catering!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made welcome from the start”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the start the service was excellent. When we arrived John met us at the door with a very friendly welcome and made us all feel relaxed and at home.

I have never stayed anywhere before around the world where such thought and consideration was given to guests. From the tray of cakes, buns, biscuits, tea, coffee, cappuccino to the yoghurt and milk in the fridge.

Every convenience you would have in your living room and kitchen at home they had in Derry House.

There was even a large teddy in our room holding a map of the place I'm from and new slipper socks in a bottom drawer for each of us girls (me and my friend are two very different shoe sizes but how they got the sizes right I will never know!) It was these little touches that made us feel so welcome and at home.

The property was spotless and the furniture the same quality as you would buy for your own home. The mattresses were also all good quality and everyone in the group slept well.

The house isn't that far from the main part of the village, just a ten to fifteen minute walk which suited us as we didn't want to be stuck in a noisy place.

What I liked best was the friendly touches and service - I can't think of anything I didn't like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service
Liked least: Does not apply
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom M
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The BEST place we've ever stayed!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we made our initial enquiry Betty and John couldn't have been more helpful and we have been just blown away with their level of service and attention to their guests. We have always found it difficult to get dog friendly accommodation but we certainly struck gold with this one. Our week long stay was simply the best we have ever had with our dogs who were treated as part of Betty and John's family as much as our own. They even had a super 25 acre field to play in! The house has everything you will ever need and Betty and John are always at hand to help with everything and anything.... this place really is a home away from home.... and a super nice one at that. We've not only found a pet holiday paradise but I'd say we've found two friends for life in Betty and John. Never mind the scenery of Kerry, Listowel is worth a visit just to meet these two!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing