We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Listowel Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab wedding venue”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Recently, we attended a wedding at the Listowel Arms Hotel and I must say it was fantastic from start to finish. It had a great reception area with real fires for the arrival drinks. The couple had organised music there and the atmosphere was so good we were slow to leave when they rang for dinner. The hotel had made a great effort decorating the drinks table (not your usual plain one). My aunt was raving about mini pastries she got with her afternoon tea. The highlight for me was the meal. We were served later, and it was the best meal I've had at a wedding, ever! The starter and soup were yummy and the main course of fillet steak was gorgeous. All the dishes looked different, more like the standard you would expect in a restaurant. The dessert were proper homemade ones, really delicious. Our bedroom was comfortable with decent beds and a power shower. Well done to all and thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 766iand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    86
    32
    16
    18
See reviews for
112
90
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We recently stayed here for a family wedding. I rang the hotel on 2 occasions, weeks before we stayed and requested a family room as we have a toddler and a 6 month old. When we arrived the first room they gave us had only had a double bed, we went to reception the next room they gave us had no bath, we again returned to reception and the third room was small and cell like with a double and a single, the bathroom was really cramped and dirty but it did have a bath. There was no lock on the door and we had to push a chair against the door to prevent our toddler from escaping. I complained to reception and they said these were the family rooms and basically there was nothing else they could do. On the night of the wedding we had organised a baby sitter through the hotel, when we returned to the room at 9 pm to check on our baby and to put our toddler to bed there was a really bad smell of cigarette smoke in the room. I asked her had she been smoking and she said no. We asked her to leave and paid her to then. The next morning we complained to reception as we felt that they should be aware of the incident and the receptionist told us that the babysitter didn't smoke. The receptionist was extremely defensive as the babysitter was a relative of one of the staff. On a positive note the bar and waiting staff were very pleasant and helpful. In my opinion this is not a family friendly hotel, they do not have cots, and being unable to lock the door from the inside is not safe for a family. If you need a babysitter organise one outside the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Maudeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had the privilage of attending and staying at the Listowel Arms Hotel over the weekend 16/17th March 2013. This Hotel scored top marks both for me and other family members who also attended and stayed overnight.
The staff were friendly and so,so helpful and the food was excellent. Our room was full of old world charm with a blend of the 21st century added. It was comfortable, spacious and clean.
Both managers (Kevin & Catriona) can be very proud of this well run Hotel and the venue is so cosy from the front and different overlooking the Feale river at the rear.
A stay at this Hotel is highly recommended for anyone visiting Listowel or surrounding area.

John D

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river feale and Listowel racecourse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean545884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding recently. Very disappointed with layout of hotel. Was given a family room about 2 or 3 mins walk from exit of elevator, had to go through two fire doors and two lots of steps. Thats OK if you dont have a pram or buggy, it was almost impossible to get there without bumps. A family room in this sort of building should at the very least be near the elevator. Also the family room had no fridge!!! So again not ideal when you have a small baby, On a plus though the food was gorgeous. Very impressed with that. Bed was very comfy, Otherwise hotel needs lots of updating.

Room Tip: If you need a family room ask for one as near to the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cruiser_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed from Monday - Friday ....Rooms was clean, very spacious. Bed very comfy. Food was very nice. And service was very friendly. I will be returning on my next visit to Ireland. It is in walking distance of other nice restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgina04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Arms, and found it to be a Hugh disappointment. The only saving grace for this establishment are the staff who seem to carry on without any direction or presence, from senior management.

When we made our booking we were advised they did not provide a crib for infants which we found strange in 2013 and where our room was situated their were two additional sets of steps to contend with after coming out of the lift.

Our first impression was pleasing, greeted with a smile and check in was smooth and hassle free. We got to our room and were pleasantly surprised with the decor and freestanding bath. And we thought our stay would be pleasant, even if the reason we were back in Listowel was unpleasant as we were there to attend a funeral.
The first night passed without incident, however the next morning, was the start of our niggles; breakfast is served in a very uninspiring draughty environment which is in desperate need of refurbishment new double glazing would be a start. The breakfast itself was very mediocre although delivered with a smile, it was like being transported to another time and not in a good way.
We decided to have lunch in the hotel Bar and this was excellent and again delivered by friendly staff at reasonable prices.

Night 2 was the kicker for us - we returned to our room and went to bed in preparation for the main event of our trip. Our three week old daughter went down for the night or so we taught until about 3am when the temperature alarm on her monitor sounded to advise us the room had fallen to below 15 degrees.. When I went to phone reception to complain the phone In the room did not work, so I used my mobile to call the hotel. When I was answered and explained my plight, the person on the other end informed me "I'll turn the heating back on, sorry about that" the room managed to get to 13 degrees and as you can imagine never really returned to temperature, so little sleep was had.

On checkout there was no manager on duty, we were advised no one would be available for a few days and to email our complaint.

We feel the Listowel Arms really takes advantage of its status of being the only (loosely termed) proper hotel in the area as its only competition are B&B's, without having to travel for miles. It is not a cheap place to stay and value for money was not attained on this occasion. The really sad thing is I grew up, and went to school in the area and endorsed this hotel for many years to many people, those days are over sadly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We recently held a surprise birthday party in the Listowel Arms and once again Patrice and the team pulled out all stops to ensure that we had a most amazing night. Many of us stayed over and were once again blown away by the comfort of the rooms, the hospitality of all the staff and the small details that made our night amazing. The food was second to non both at the party along with the breakfast the following morning. Everyone has been raving about it since. This hidden gem in the corner of the square in Listowel town is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed in and should not be overlooked when looking for somewhere to stay or host an event in the local area. Thanks again for an amazing time...looking for another excuse already.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
9.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
14.7 mi away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#4 of 14 in Tralee
1,102 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
24 reviews
11.0 mi away
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Listowel
11 reviews
8.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Listowel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Listowel Arms Hotel

Property: Listowel Arms Hotel
Address: The Square, Listowel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Listowel Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Listowel Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing