We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Warm & Friendly”
Review of North County House

North County House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North County House
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have just returned from a weeked in Listowel with my Fiancee and some friends. We stayed at the North County House Saturday to Tuesday. We were welcomed at the door by Monica given a quick tour and shown to our rooms.
The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy and just what we needed for the weekend.
I can only back up what other reviewers have commented on the breakfast! It was superb, plenty of it and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all a wonderful stay and I would definately recommend this hotel and will use again when I return to Ireland

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the rear as in the weekday morning traffic can be busy...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann0ying0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for North County House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

My stay was before Christmas last year (2012). This was the 1st time traveling by myself. Monica couldn't have been more kind and accommodating. My room was very comfortable and clean. Not only was the breakfast delicious but there were a number of choices to select from. You're in the heart of Listowel when you stay at The North County

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianeruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13973
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a motorbike trip last month.Monica the owner was most welcoming as were all her staff and the facilities were just right. They even kindly let us park our bikes in the yard at the back.
Its perfectly located in the centre of town and the breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended if you're in the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This B & B is in a conventient location for accesing shops pubs and restaurants in the town. Parking is available nearby. Hostess was very frendly and welcoming, offering tea and biscuits on arrival. There was no tea-making facilities in the room. Room to the front of the house was bright and comfortable. Breakfast was good and there was nothing negative about our stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The other reviews say it all basically. This is a clean well-run establishment with lots of uncluttered space. Although my room was a little on the small side it was still very comfortable and well heated on a cold spring overnight. For a terraced house that is on a main street the lighting is effectively used to good effect in most of the rooms. The breakfast room in particular is airy and inviting. The Irish damask linen tablecloths, sparkling bright silverware and the pure white crockery complete the picture. The house also has Wi-Fi which is a little on the slow side but this is not the landlady’s fault.

Breakfast was freshly cooked from scratch and although the food was a little overcooked (it appears to be a local trait) it was still appetising and very good: and the coffee was excellent too. For the price (€45 for a single room bed and breakfast) it represented very good value for money. I’ll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in The North County on a flying overnight visit, but in the short time I had, I was impressed by the place. Well presented, clean and comfortable, the check in was friendly, & professional. The landlady (Mrs Quille) was more than welcoming, The room was lovely, with good quality furnishings (as is the whole place!) and had a great nights sleep, The breakfast was equally good! When I return to Listowel, I will enquire for accommodation here first & foremost as it represents excellent value!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiddlethirdMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Lovely people and breakfast, very homely. Clean comfortable €70 B&B for both of us great value, couldn't fault this stay. We were recommended places to eat which we're very good and no visit to listowel would be complete without going to J B Keanes pub. What a wonderful experience, an amateur theatre company acting out J B' s play Young Men and afterwards the Craic - just wonderful do not miss visiting this pub now run by his son. Billy (he has it)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Listowel
0.2 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
380 reviews
9.3 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
McMahon House
McMahon House
#9 of 11 in Listowel
26 reviews
10.8 mi away
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
Palmgrove Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Listowel
14 reviews
8.0 mi away
Greenfields Farmhouse
Greenfields Farmhouse
#2 of 11 in Listowel
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North County House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North County House

Address: North County House 67 Church Street, Listowel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Listowel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Listowel
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing