We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at affordable prices”
Review of Mai Fitz's - CLOSED

Mai Fitz's
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
kerry ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food at affordable prices”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Whenever we get the opportunity to visit this restaurant in our home town we take great pleasure in doing so. We are always make feel welcome by the friendly staff and as always the food is delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    27
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A gem. Tripadvisor got it right!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Whilst in Listowel for a weekend I used Tripadvisor to check the local restaurants. Mai Fitz's came up as number 1.

Walking in the door we were greeted by an old irish pub, high bar and bottles decorating the walls. The staff were very friendly and really had the "Irish mammy" feel about them.

The menu had a fantastic selection of starters and main course. The meats we ordered were so tender and perfectly cooked. The accompanying salads and veg tasted like they had just been pulled/picked from the garden, so fresh and crisp.

The bill was not heavy on the pocket and we both left very happy, and a bit merry after a bottle of wine.

You might walk or drive by Mai Fitz's without knowing as it is very unassuming and quaint but cross the threshold and you'll be transported to a place where good hearty, fresh and tasty food is served in what could be your grandmothers kitchen. This restaurant does the very basic so well, something that a lot of restaurants in Ireland don't do anymore.

Don't leave Listowel without a visit here..... Oh and a photo with John B Keane

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garfield120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My husband and I had our sons christening party here. Food and service were excellent. Would highly recommend Mai Fitz,s to everyone.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Listowel, Ireland
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have eaten most listowel restaurants and while the standard is usually very good this one is the best,value wise it cant be touched.The food is excellent the staff are friendly.The chef will make sure your happy.excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“early bird”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Three of us decided to go for early bird which was around €15 for three course meal.Small restaurant but also had an upstairs section which was not in use when we called. Adequate room down stairs for amount of people there. Very friendly waitress .A little worried when they had no beer on draft. Unusual when they had guinness.
Early bird menu a little limited but for the price not many could argue. Chowder was okay but have got worse. Sring rolls were excellent.All enjoyed main courses , chicken Kiev and tagliatelli. Desert of either icecream or cheescake. Were pleasantly surprised with lovely house red wine. Compensated for lack of beer. Food was good and well worth the price . Would call again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai Fitz's also viewed

 
 
Listowel, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing