We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Stunning - One of the best !”

Review of Casa Verde

Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Superking size bedded main bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom with double height ceiling
The dining room on the terrace with river views
Super kitchen with all mod cons including ice cream maker!
Luxury seating on the terrace
Looking out from the terrace to the rio
Family bathroom
En-suite shower room to main bedroom
Sanlucar looking towards Portugal
Night-time on the Rio
Promenade at riverside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Sanlucar de Guadiana, Province of Huelva, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dianachas...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Stunning - One of the best !”
Reviewed December 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I have just returned from staying at Casa Verde, probably the prettiest village nestling on the River which divides Spain from Portugal ,where there is a small ferry going across enabling to go out for dinner in Portugal where you will find a number of local restaurants.The views from the house are stunning .
The house is beautifully furnished, no stone has been left unturned to provide every home comfort ,from lovely bedrooms all with bathrooms and very comfy beds,, to 4 different terraces to sit and soak up the sun and the views ,one which includes a plunge pool with very large colourful bean bags and ham mam towels.I just couldn't fault it ,the owners have done the most beautiful job in creating a very comfortable home from home atmosphere making it so relaxing. My family just cannot wait to return to this hidden gem; .Simply Stunning ;

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2017
Hi Diana, Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Oasis”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Casa Verde was the perfect, beautiful home for a break at the end of the summer. We had a very lazy week and spent a lot of time lounging on both of the terraces and looking out across the river watching the ferry shuttle back and forth. We did plenty of cooking in the fabulous kitchen which had everything we needed for a couple of lavish dinners and it was such a treat to enjoy long evenings with the dining room opened up to the cool night air.

Sanlúcar de Guadiana and Alcoutim are both lovely little towns and we enjoyed a couple of great, relaxed meals out at local restaurants. While we were staying we were also lucky enough to experience the festival in Alcoutim, which was a local affair with brass bands in the streets and swimming galas across the river!

I would love to return to Casa Verde earlier in the year for a bit of walking in the spring and to see more of the surrounding area - and spend a little less time lounging on the veranda!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
Dear Charlotte, I am delighted that you had such a restful break and we look forward to welcoming you back - perhaps Spring 2018!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Building works!”
Reviewed September 26, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We arrived to find the adjoining house being fully renovated; it was just a shell. The exterior of the house too and terrace. The noise of the works started at 7am every day with drilling and banging. This went on until about 4pm everyday apart from the weekend. It really ruined our holiday. We quickly contacted the owners and they did not apologise or tell us why they had failed to inform us either on booking or thereafter in communications with us, that this work was going on during our stay. We were charged full high season rate. We later found out it was actually the owner who was renovating the house next door, so she was in control of the project. Unbelievable. The only response she gave us when questioned was that they could ask the builders to start later in the morning (which they didn't) and to tell me that 'good builders are difficult to find in Spain', so didn't want to upset them by speaking to them again!! Not kidding. We were appalled and angry. She said to us 'we want our guests to enjoy their stay with us' (????) so she said if we weren't happy we could go elsewhere. So thoughtful - at last minute in high season for a party of 7. Not an option, most places were booked up, last few were available but either dire or grossly overcharging to take advantage of the last minute tourists. So we got up early, went out every day and stayed in Seville for a couple of days. It was not the relaxing, peaceful retreat that was promised at all. The house itself was okay (apart from the roof in the dining room which lets in lots of water if it rains) but it was impossible to enjoy it while there were drills going and dust flying over! The upper terrace couldn't be used and one room in the roof was directly under the works. There were cement mixers in the street and big piles of bricks and rubble outside the door. Workmen came and went all day. I still can't believe that the owner was renting the house out while these works went on and charging full price for the experience. I wouldn't trust a word she says. When she sent back our deposit, she actually had the audacity to put in her letter that we should consider a stay in one of her other properties in the future. Maybe NOT. Avoid.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NellPrz
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ASuperb house.”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 couples) have just returned from a week at Casa Verde.As we walked in through the front door we were amazed at how stunning it was - even better the photos! Then to walk through the kitchen onto the covered terrace with a view to Portugal - we were speechless! Then upstairs to the sun terrace - one delight followed another!
We had a lovely week pottering around Sanlucar and Alcoutim but I would recommend a trip to Ayamonte which is about 40 minutes away by car. Go to the beach at Isla de Canela and then have a meal at La Puerta Ancha (the Wide Door!) in one of the squares in Ayamonte. We had a fabulous meal there- but do book, it is very popular.
The upstairs twin room was unusual. We weren't sure who could use it; it is accessed by a steep staircase without a banister (so not suitable for children) and it contains 2 single beds and a futon squashed under the steeply sloping room. There is no storage space and not even a bedside table - we were very glad we hadn't taken a 3rd couple which had been the original plan.
It was also a shame that 'Cobnut' was out of commission.
We had a fabulous time in a wonderful house. Not forgetting Jak who prepares the house to such a high standard and is a font of knowledge.
Hope to return again, perhaps in the spring as "Lolly" at the beach bar said the flowers are lovely. At least we think that was what she said - most of our conversations were by sign language!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Lack of choice of places to eat in the village - but the season was coming to an end
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
43roberts...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful gem and perfect getaway from the crowds”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Southern escapes were recommended to us by friends who stayed in their cottage in the North of Scotland. Casa Verde- is absolutely beautifully renovated and has everything needed to ensure a relaxing holiday: facilities excellent for cooking and barbecue-ing, wide choice of books, we spent many evenings on the patio playing cards or scrabble, listening to beautiful singing (Fado) clearly reaching us over the waters from Alcoutim; more than enough choice (and quite reasonable) for eating at one of many eateries in both Sanlucar and Alcoutim. Perfect base to explore South West Andalucia, but also easy reach to Seville, and Sierra de Aracena. Fantastic for birdwatching. We also enjoyed a number of walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: More boardgames available to while away stiflingly hot mid-days would have been good(we took our own cards and scrabble)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wsasm01
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real Spanish Rustic charm situated in absolutely amazing location”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Ok grab a cuppa and enjoy!

Adam & Linda Age 42/43 – Hobbies- Travelling , Triathlons ,Adventure Races and Good food.

Flights from Glasgow direct- Very cheap & short duration flight - bonus. Car hire at Airport- excellent very well thought out, car hire terminal less than 5 minute walk- . Car hire standard excellent we got a brand new Fiat 500- My wife loved it!
Weather totally roasting! 33 degrees when we arrived at Faro- it got hotter throughout the week!
The weather was just incredible. The directions to Casa Verde were excellent- The motorways have an electronic toll the total cost for our toll fees that w pre-paid was 12 euros - we just paid the car hire firm in advance. The motorways are a total joy! Hardly anyone uses them- amazing! So easy to drive following Val’s directions. As we headed off the motorway towards Casa Verde - I'm a keen triathlete and love cycling long distances- the roads are just incredible! smooth and in excellent condition. We arrived and were shown around the property by Val’s friend- You go on your first instinct! Casa Verde will blow you away- Everything you need is there-very well laid out, tastily decorated and spotless!
For me what made Casa Verde special was the 2 balcony's Each morning I had my fresh squeezed orange juice sitting overlooking Portugal! listening to the wee birds! I'm not a bird watcher however I do get it! So peaceful and very therapeutic! I fell asleep often simply listening to birds chirp away!
We watched the sun go down most nights on the separate roof top balcony – Obviously sitting with a glass or two of fizzy wine! Just simply taking it all in!

Trying not to bore you too much –The outside space is huge-it’s amazing if you have large numbers wishing to barbeque etc You have everything there.

I was in training for a long endurance triathlon race up in Scotland ( Celtman) . Casa Verde gave us the perfect place to chill, visit many small towns -we also drove to Seville for the day. We had Blue skies for the full week. If you have kids or wanting to swim –you can swim on the river within 50m of the property or Simply drive a short distance 10minutes to El Granado – They have an amazing outdoor swimming pool – with a lovely wee café bar and a great grass area to soak in the sun! I used this often as my prep for my race- the cost was 5 euros for 2 adults- the pool was spotless clean.

If your cycling or running- it’s a tough mile uphill to start! the roads are amazing!

We mostly dined within Casa Verde throughout our week as to take advantage of “ This amazing rustic Spanish house” we wanted to sample a Rustic Spanish house and to be honest totally delighted with our experience.

I flew back to Scotland and spent one night at home then travelled up to Torridon- to Val’s Scottish cottage! ( I had a great 2 weeks)

Hope this review is helpful.

Thanks again

Adam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location,Weather,The fantastic house, The amazing roads, Rustic charm.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelalon...
North Norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a truly wonderful place...”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have just returned from five days in heaven, what a truly wonderful place Casa Verde and the surrounding area is. The house is amazing, absolutely everything that we could possibly need, great attention to detail and the highest of standards from the minute you walk through the door, this is a very special property indeed, the ever changing views from the lovely terrace looking across the river into Portugal were just the icing on the cake! We had booked Casa Verde for a few days R&R and some good birdwatching, it was perfect for that but there is SO much to do here, we explored the trail which runs along the river, very easy access and the place is teeming with birds (even in November) watching the Azure Winged Magpies and Hoopoe in the orange groves at dusk will keep me going through the cold English winter, I cannot wait to return in spring when the warblers and nightingales will be amazing, obviously the river is a main migration route so Spring and Autumn at Casa Verde will be on my tick list, next trip with more time we will explore the National Park. It wasn't all birding, the walking, nipping across the river into Portugal on the little river taxi for a G&T at sunset, the fish market at Ayamonte, a dip in the Sea and not to be missed the zip wire experience in Sanlucar, you don't need to know anymore about our holiday, or waste anymore time, it's amazing - just book it - you won't be disappointed and it couldn't be easier, the owners have thought of everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location,easy to reach from Faro airport
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing