We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finca Malvasia”
Review of Finca Malvasia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masdache
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Malvasia
Ranked #1 of 1 Masdache B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were really impressed with this lovely small holiday complex. Our finca was great, the pool perfect and never busy and there was even a mini gym. Our hosts Richard and Tarnia were just perfect and gave us some great ideas of places to go we particularly enjoyed Grillem a restaurant not too far away. There were a number of families with pre school children and it was perfect for them as well. A home away from home , great attention to detail and a very personal touch.

Room Tip: The one bedroom finca is perfect for couples
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Finca Malvasia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Never rated a place before, never felt the need... This place warranted it though!
Stayed here towards the end of march for a bit of winter sun and to get out of the big smoke. Only a 4 day stay unfortunately and really regretted it staying longer....
When we arrived, the feel of the place was part european, part north african, the pool area was amazing - very much in the Enrique style - 70's bond films spring to mind.... The room was lovely and spacious with some cool furniture and decor, in the boutique style.
Richard and tania were amazing, helpfulness in spades and great fun to spend some time with - welcoming but also hands off to allow you to enjoy your time away.
Great recommendations for restaurants too - grillen was amazing!!!
Would love to go back for longer, the weather is meant to be good all year round! Even in high summer , it rarely gets too hot and mid winter is very pleasant so they say...
Back for more me thinks...

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamieLastLanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Can't rate Finca Malvasia highly enough. Beautifully conceived and put together place, in a lovely spot with a great vibe. Four self-contained, self-catering bungalows set around a Manrique style pool, overlooking vineyards and mountains. Charming, helpful hosts, Tarnya and Richard, offer useful tips on Lanzarote, complimentary local wine, and knock up an awesome tagine once a week. They also own a really good restaurant with gorgeous staff, great views and delicious food - Grillen.

The apartments are brilliantly thought out, stylish, but cosy, with private terraces and everything you could need. One is a separate, romantic double; two have a double and a twin, and one has two doubles. It's a small plot, but somehow still feels private enough. It's perfect for families, is a lovely romantic bolt hole, and would also be great fun to take over with a group of friends.

There's an adorable little studio hut for yoga and spa treatments, which also houses a cross trainer and a pretty good DVD library. My only problem was that it's such an idyll, I didn't want to drag myself away to go out exploring anywhere else. Don't be put off by comments about it being off the beaten track and down a bumpy 1km lane, that's part of its appeal and you have to drive everywhere on Lanzarote anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is the type of place that you almost want to keep to yourself.
Quiet, relaxed, off the beaten track. If this is the type of holiday that you are after then this place is spot on.
The pool area has been created in the Manrique style and fits in perfectly with other buildings on the island. Striking white shapes contrast the black volcanic ground surrounding.
Use the great guide book they have provided. Tarnya and Richard's local knowledge suggests so many good places to eat, and visit. They will direct you to a Lanzarote that is worth seeing but not overcrowded and touristy. The book proved to be invaluable as did talking to Richard and Tarnya themselves.
It was a great place for our wedding anniversary. Not cheap, but you are paying for quality.
Oh and if you are thinking of taking a bike then do it. The riding out here is amazing, if very windy at times. The locals give space to the cyclists and the chance for some early season riding in the sunshine is worth taking.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights, with our 2 year old daughter - Richard and Tarnya were fantastic hosts. The accommodation was brilliant and seriously comfy and well equipped. So relaxing and will def be back - highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Far enough from the mass tourism!
Close enough for every sightseeing!

Not wanting the bulk tourism accommodation, this place in the middle of grape plantation, is very private.
we were self accommodating as there is enough on the island to provide yourself with ingredients for ypur own cookery or restaurants to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent a week here on honeymoon, and wish we didn't have to leave!
It's located centrally on the island, so a car (or bikes) is a necessity for daytrips - luckily hiring a car in Lanzarote is quite cheap (and petrol is cheap).
The 4-chalet resort is a lovely oasis of plants in a vineyard that resembles the lunar surface.
The chalets themselves are kitted out with everything you need to cook and eat, and the bedroom is luxuriant.
A lovingly put-together guidebook to the island is provided detailing good restaurants and things to do - we took it with us each day.
There is a supply of CDs, DVDs and board games for whiling away the hours.

Downsides:
- the pool isn't heated (we knew this before going) so probably only useful in the high heat of summer.
- from the road, it's hard to find the turn off, and the property is at the end of a long bumpy track
- had to go near to the main house to get wifi reception (a plus for focusing on relaxing!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masdache
5.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,934 reviews
4.5 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
569 reviews
3.1 mi away
Finca de la Florida Hotel
Finca de la Florida Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Bartolome
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
La Isla Y El Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
456 reviews
6.7 mi away
La Casona de Yaiza
La Casona de Yaiza
#1 of 5 in Yaiza
128 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Malvasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Malvasia

Address: Camino Oratorio 12 14, 35572 Masdache, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Masdache
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Masdache
Price Range: $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Malvasia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Malvasia is a collection of stylish, rural, self catering apartments in the heart of the La Geria wine region of Lanzarote. Located in the the centre of the island, yet only a 10 minute drive to the beach and an easy 15 minute drive from Arrecife Airport. Finca Malvasia sits amongst an unspoilt vineyard, backed by volcanoes and uninterrupted countryside views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Finca Malvasia Hotel Masdache
Finca Malvasia Lanzarote/Masdache

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing