We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for tranquil accommodation on the Isle of Skye (suitable also for vegans) ?”
Review of Achalochan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Achalochan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ose B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2012

How many times have our family planned a day out on the Isle of Skye, only to face a very long tiring journey back home ? Not this time. This year we decided to spend a few days on the Isle of Skye at Achalochan House. The views all around the house are stunning. You have sea views on one side of Achalochan, and at the back, gorgeous views across the countryside with various horses grazing. You can smell the sea air and spot the Cuillin Mountains in the distance. Kenny (and his two dogs) made us feel extrememly welcome on our first visit, and as we walked in the lounge / dining area, we were greeted again with the attractive sea views. Our family of four chose a double room (which had its own private shower / spacious bath tub) and a twin room for our children. The bedrooms were immaculate and the memory foam beds were very comfortable. As vegans, Kenny provided a lovely cooked breakfast following fruit cereals and toast. With full stomachs, we explored the northern part of the Isle including Dunvegan Castle, The Storr Mountains, Trotternish (overlooking the sea and the Ben Nevis mountains on the other side), Duntulm Castle remains, then down to the Cuillin Mountains, watching the sun set at Engel. Great accommodation, great food and hopefully we will return in the warmer months ! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. The family room looks over to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlEc777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just spent a full week here, don't think we could have found a better B&B. room was spacious, very clean & comfortable. Host was excellent, as was his cooked breakfast which one morning he quite happily prepared early allowing us to catch the ferry to the outer hebrides.
Location is excellent, sea & mountain view, sea eagle went over at 8am three times during the week.
we highly recommend this place.
Peter & Jane Hunt

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights for our friends wedding. This is by far the cleanest place I have ever stayed, I felt like I was the first guest. The memory foam matresses was a lovely surprise after a very long car journey. All rooms have lovely modern bathooms. As stated in the previous review there was a bit of an issue about the leaving the rooms for a period in the day for our rooms to be cleaned and have the towels changed. Being a fairly 'green' couple we were happy to re use our towels and also wanted to use our room in the alloted cleaning time. This was not a problem, although we did get the impression they would have prefered to clean and tidy our room. However we saw this as nothing more than pride and their high standards. Our stay was very pleasant and we would definitely re book next time we're lucky enough to go to Skye. On our last day a few of our party were up a bit late for breakfast and kenny was happy to cook us up a lovely breakfast to send us on our way home. Thank you for a lovely stay! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are looking for a nice room in Skye then this is the place for you. The rooms were clean, well designed and warm. Unfortunately they were let my the least hospitable and most unfriendly man. Clearly our oresence there was an irritation and despite the fact that our group filled this B&B for 3 days giving a large chunk of income it made no difference. We were ordered to leave the place early and under no circumstances were to return before 4.30pm. This would not have been an issue if we had not been on Skye for a wedding to which he reluctantly agreed to allow us half an hour to change.
A complete lack of highland hospitality bolstered by outright rudeness.
There are hundreds of B&B's in Skye - choose any of them before this one.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ANNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glouc01, Owner at Achalochan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Well ! I don't quite know what what we did wrong here . This reviewer arrived as one of a party of eight. Only after their arrival did we discover that they were to attending a wedding locally. We made every effort to accommodate their needs as we do with all our guests. On the morning of the wedding the group[ including the reviewer] got ready in their rooms and left for the wedding around 2.30pm. The following morning we made them a later breakfast as some had a late night. We showed these guest the same level of " highland hospitality " and service that we have always given over the last six years. Our previous feedback shows this completely. The review by MISSDT dated 30th august 2012 comes from one of the same wedding party. The two other couples in the group left the following comments in our guest book...... Great location, friendly and accommodating hosts. thanks [ P.M s/Africa]........ Will definitely recommend. great hosts, dogs included . [D.B England]. I leave you to judge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we only spent one night there but i was lovely. The taste, quality and service is a 5 star hotel. Very nice host, family atmosphere. Close to all attractions. Nice view and breakfast is amazing. We loved it. Very clean place. I haven't seen such a high standard in the UK , Scotland for a very very long time. Well done:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izka80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you are looking for a good B&B on the Isle of Skye this is the place to stay. Rooms are highly comfortable and clean. Every room has his own bathroom with a shower in it. The two hosts are really friendly people which I had a great chat with. We originally should have stayed at another B&B which was overbooked, though. But this one was much better anyway.
They have the most lovliest dogs which might accompany on a walk over the isle.
I can strongly recomand this place to everyone!
(And thanks btw for showing me that not everyone on the Isle of Skye shakes hands with their left!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilippReit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here for two nights quite by accident, as my previous B & B had screwed up my reservation and had to kick me out after three nights. What luck! Kenny and his wife are marvelous hosts, Kenny built the B & B himself, and his pride in it shows in the details of the bathroom fixtures, furniture, bedding, etc. Unlike many other B & B's, you get your own table for breakfast, so you don't have to put on forced conviviality when you're just getting up. The full, Scottish breakfasts keep you going all day. Modern bathroom, private veranda, friendly hosts, reasonable pricing, very clean, neat and quiet, and very well-located to visit Skye's stunningly spectacular natural attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieNyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Achalochan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achalochan House

Address: ose, Ose IV56 8FJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Ose
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ose
Price Range: $40 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rooms are all en-suite with a large shower and have a faux leather bed with memory foam mattress, sky tv/dvd, central heating,free wi-fi, soft seating, hair dryer, alarm clock and nice sea/mountain views. Our guest lounge has sky tv/dvd, sea/mountain views and patio doors onto a balcony with seating. We have secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Achalochan House Ose, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing