We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cabins in quiet, lush location out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Bush village and had a thoroughly good time. We had one of the renovated semi-detached cabins which have very good through ventilation so in fact there is no need for the AC. The cabin is spotlessly clean and well equipped, the bed is firm but good. The bathroom is fine, too, only the lack of a dividing wall to the shower is a little impractical. You can have breakfast or dinner outside on the terrace which is shared with your direct neighbours. Again, there is no privacy, so you are at the mercy of your neighbours - we were very lucky in this respect. The WiFi does not extend to the cabins, so you have to walk up to reception to go online. The owner Bryan was very helpful and gave us good, honest tips.

The cabins are arranged along a driveway where private cars are not allowed (taxis drive up, though) so the overall ambience is very quiet and the vegetation lush. Very colourful birdlife, too.

Bush Village is out of town, which is actually a good thing because Airlie Beach town centre is certainly not everybody's cup of tea. It is a very quiet and relaxing place to return to after a day's "excitement" in Airlie Beach. The beautiful walk into town along the boardwalk is a sightseeing tip in itself, however it takes a good half hour and, because the scenery is so wonderful, it will normally take you much longer. There is a Coles supermarket and an excellent Noodle & Rice Asian take-away only 5 mins on foot in the other direction. There is also a pub at the end of the mall which is best avoided however - expensive, disappointing food, terrible beer.

Room Tip: Cabin 13 is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude - Bryan O, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Hey Guys, Thank you for your stay and comments of Bush Village. You have summed us up pretty much spot on. We do like for our guests to have a quiet relaxing time and most of our guests agree it is much better staying away from the centre of Town. Its good you took advantage of the beautiful scenery along the boardwalk and there are some new restaurants opening at the Marina between us and Town. Thanks again for your kind comments and happy travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bed basic dorm which was spot on, the bathroom and kitchen were lovely and couldn't complain. The bed wasn't the greatest but it's budget accommodation so I can't complain. The lounge area was lovely, with great wifi and a nice looking pool even though I didn't try it out. Brian was very helpful and friendly, he booked our tour with ocean rafting (which was awesome.) He looks after the place really well has done a great job. Having a look at some of the other cabins made me a little jealous, they look awesome so if you can afford it, it would be worth getting one of the better cabins. The one minor downside was having to get the public bus upon arrival off the greyhound. After a 12 hour bus journey from Hervey Bay, a pick up would have been nice but in fairness, the public bus isn't far away and it drops you right at bush village budget cabins so not a major issue. Thank you, would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank seosamh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Bush Village the way it is. Getting here is part of the travel adventure. We have different styles of cabins to suit different travellers but our aim is to provide budget accommodation. Not many dorm rooms have a kitchenette & bathroom of their own & only 5 people sharing a 2 bedroom cabin. Bryan is very helpful & does his best to make sure everyone is happy. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Bush Village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Bush Village is a very nice and relaxing place to stay. The owners made my friends and I feel welcome from the moment we arrived. It was nice hanging out at the lounge and listening to some good music (from a local radio station), and seeing some very interesting birds that hang out in the village.

I stayed in the backpackers shared accommodation. It was very nice to have some peace and quite, as well as much less traffic than one would typically find in a hostel. The bed, bathroom and kitchen areas were all nice.

The location itself is a 20 minute walk from the Airlie Beach lagoon. If you're not up for the walk, a taxi will arrive within minutes of a phone call.

My biggest suggestion for improvement is to extend WiFi to cover all of the cabins. It is only available in the lounge area.

I would have stayed an extra night if my scheduled would have allowed. I really enjoyed the atmosphere at Bush Village, along with being at Airlie Beach. I will stay here again when I visit Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Bush Village as it is. Our aim is to provide clean, quiet comfortable accommodation. The dorm rooms are a bit different as all cabins with 2 bedrooms only sleep five and they all have their own bathroom & kitchenette. The 20 min walk is beautiful & provides your daily exercise so you can enjoy the view as well as Airlie's great restaurants.

Jude & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved our stay at Bush Village.
Bryan was very welcoming when we arrived.
Cabins Are Great value for your money. Spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet.
Looking forward to our next stay at Bush Village.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank josh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide quiet, comfortable, clean, no frills accommodation. We are pleased that you acknowledged this. Happy Days

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We staid in a clean and new refurbished studio room ( inside, because outside it's still old). We liked this quiet and nice place with the beautiful and colored birds among the bush. Judy is a nice person, working hard in the beautiful garden. But the owner is not friendly, not welcoming it seems that he isn't the right person for the job.
During our stay the spa and the swimming pool have been neither cleaned nor filtered.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. You arrived during a torrential downpour & wanted to park your car next to the cabin. You became very upset & agitated when explained that we do not have parking near the cabins. Bryan asked you to settle down & offered you an umbrella. He knows how disappointing it was for you with such horrid weather but he can't control that. He is always friendly, loves a chat and does what he can to welcome our guests. He is very honest when giving guests information. Sad for him as he is nearly always on the front line where everyone vents their frustrations. Thank you for your comment about the garden & the birds. I just love the birds. The pool is filtered for most of the day & vacuumed every morning. With so many trees surrounding us, it is impossible to keep scooping the pool all the time especially when it is windy.
I noticed your husband & Bryan were always having a friendly chat. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holidays in Australia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I love this place and totally agree with the review before hand. I stayed here for a couple of weeks while I was finding somewhere more permanent (For work). I stayed in the backpackers shared budget accommodation. It had a clean and more than adequate kitchen, 2xstoves,fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster and all utensils.. There was even a small tv! The kitchen was a shared area which was fine as your only ever going to be sharing with a maximum of 4 other people. The toilet/shower were all clean and in good working order. My room was a dorm style with 3 beds. Which I loved as I wasn't sharing the room with another 5-10 people which is usually the case in this type of accom. The dorms are single sex for travellers on there own. Another big tick! There was free Wi-Fi, big tv, DVD player in the communal area. This was my favourite part of Bush village. This is where fellow travellers shared there best bits and talked about the journey ahead over a beer or two. The clientele where a real mixed bag, Backpackers, Familys with children, Grey nomads. I was sad to leave here. I cant thank Bryan and Jude enough. Bush Village is a small independent family run business which I am all for supporting these days! It has a real safe, homely feel about it and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to be close to the beautiful Whitsundays without the constant party that is Airlie beach. If you do want to party or head into town for dinner its 5mins on the bus, 30mins walk on the boardwalk (stunning views) or even better borrow a bike from Bryan or Jude for free! Thanks again!

Room Tip: The rooms are different depending on your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skyaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. That is pretty much us and the Bush Village. It is so good to meet people such as yourself. We are looking forward to your return visit or hopefully we will get an invite to your big day.
Jude & Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently returned from our trip to the Whitsundays and stayed in one of the budget cabins at Bush Village. From the moment we arrived Bryan (one of the owners) was beyond helpful. He asked us our plans during our stay and once we told him we were interested in seeing Whitehaven Beach and the Reef he immediately offered advice and great insight on various day tours. It was quite unfortunate that during our stay there was a cyclone, causing all of the day tours to be cancelled. Bryan still made sure we had an enjoyable experience and was happy to accommodate any of our requests. We spent the majority of our trip in the lounge area just hanging out, watching movies from their large collection, and playing games and we could not have felt more at home. The accommodation itself was very clean and comfortable and the location was perfect. It was quiet and peaceful unlike the main strip of Airlie Beach, and a super quick walk to a nearby shopping centre. It is also a lovely 20 minute walk to the heart of town along a boardwalk right on the water. We hope to plan a trip back in the future that is hopefully cyclone free!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owners-BushVillage, Owner at Bush Village Budget Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Thank you. Your review sums us up perfectly and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, even with cyclones, boats and flights being cancelled. It is great to have guests like you guys stay. We were sorry you could not get out to Whitehaven Beach, but unfortunately cyclones do wreck peoples plans. It would be great for you to come and stay again, just wait for the wet to finish. Cheers guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannonvale
0 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
403 reviews
1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 57 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 57 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.1 mi away
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Village Budget Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Village Budget Cabins

Address: 2 St Martins Rd, Cannonvale, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach > Cannonvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Cannonvale
Price Range: $69 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bush Village Budget Cabins 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Village Budget Cabins are set in tropical palm lined gardens with a variety of accommodation options depending on the budget. There are Self Contained 4/5 shared cabins for the budget conscious through to our Deluxe Studios with kitchenette or King Studios with no kitchen for couples and Deluxe & Standard 2 bedroom Family cabins. Judy Elliott and Bryan O'Sullivan are on-site owner/managers of the business and welcome their guests as extended family. An in-house Whitsunday Tour Booking Office is available for all Whitsundays and Great Barrier Reef tours. Facilities include swimming pool, coin laundry, communal kitchen/ lounge area. Free WiFi is available in the communal kitchen/lounge & pool area. Free off road parking and Bush Village is a short walk to Whitsunday Shopping Centre with Coles Supermarket and also a short walk to the beautiful Cannonvale Beach.Please note - we have no parking for boats, trailers, campervans or caravans ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bush Village Budget Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing