We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Fab Value, 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makarora Tourist Centre
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I were on a 'road trip' to Franz Josef from Dunedin to view a potential horse purchase. We had traveled for about 5 hours non stop. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely, friendly British lad who had only been in NZ for about three months. He checked us in, gave us a map and explained where our A Frame unit was. Kate and I drove around to find a very clean albeit basic unit with a queen bed and 3 single beds. Crisp, clean linen, heating, good lighting and an out door chair and covered ashtray on the semi covered porch.Toilet and shower block 15 meters away. Amazing scenery, quiet location. We would definitely stay here again and all for around NZ$70.
http://www.makarora.co.nz/accommodation.html

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mumof3NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Really beautiful experience. Great clean well equipped rooms, with everything u need. Heaters and hot water bottles supplied also, so easy to keep warm. Great bar/restaurant/gift shop area. Friendly & helpful staff. Highly recommend. Birds in the trees in the morning were amazing. Definitely walk to the blue pools up the road too. Lots of other tramping options in the area.

Room Tip: Family Chalet was great choice for a family. Kids in a seperate room. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way to the glaciers. Very isolated, rural setting. Stayed in a A-frame chalet. The chalet was comfortable but very warm after being in the mid-summer sun, but soon cooled down overnight. There is no phone coverage between Wanaka and West Coast, fortunately the centre has wifi available for a very reasonable price. The food in the pub/restaurant was good, and reasonable value considering the location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Last July, were were travelling down the West Coast of the South Island, and had Pre-booked a Night's stay at the Makarora Tourist Centre. We had been travelling all day, and arrived at the Tourist Centre after dark. The Office was closed, but a Map and a Sign with our Name on it left on the front door soon drew attention to where our chalet was located.
We were easily able to find the Chalet, and were delighted to find that the Lights and Heating had all been turned on by the staff beforehand so as to welcome us. And, as this was in the middle of Winter, and had been snowing previously, this was great to find. We found everything we needed in the chalet, with plenty of room and Hot Water. In the morning before We left we were able to gas up the car at their Pumps, and pay for the accomodation. We found the Staff to be friendly and helpful, as they opened the Pumps early for us specially.
Recommended to all!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spider S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we got here mid evening, found our room, went to the bar and had an enjoyable drink. the toilets were separate from the rooms (your own triangular building!) but they did a good job of keeping them clean and bug free (until morning!) it was a nice enough stay for a passing through nights kip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I used this place just for the campervan powered pitch. Apart from one other campervan, there was nobody else staying. The main office was closed at 19.00 and I checked in at the restaurant then had a look round. The view was excellent. Toilets/showers clean and presentable. I had no need to use the communal room/kitchen area but it looked fine. I took a peek inside the A frame chalets which everybody else here commented on and from the outside they looked ok. I took a couple of photos of them, posted here.

I honestly cannot fault the facilities that I used and the grounds and there's nothing here that would make me want to travel countless miles further.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelE-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a chalet which we found clean & comfortable with the basic requirements. We did arrived after hours but this was no problem for the staff. They do have restuarant here but we did use it. Easy to find just as located on main highway road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoralReef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makarora Tourist Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarora Tourist Centre

Address: Makarora, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Makarora
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Makarora
Price Range: $46 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Makarora Tourist Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing