We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Makarora Tourist Centre
Nearby Hotels
$76
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$70
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$96
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka Heights Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$129
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
36
40
29
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
40
29
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsframe chalethaast passfranz josefbird songclean linenno cell phone coveragebell birdsget away from it allquiet place to staythe kitchenjet boatcooking utensilssnow capped mountainssized bedstayed one nightbit datedwi fi
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 119 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed in a chalet which we found clean & comfortable with the basic requirements. We did arrived after hours but this was no problem for the staff. They do have restuarant here but we did use it. Easy to find just as located on main highway road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoralReef_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

A frame chalets were fine but the beds were pretty uncomfortable with thinnish foam mattress on a hard board. The Cafe/ Pub was good and staff friendly. I thought was a bit expensive compared to other places and was a little ticked off that they would not allow us a free local call despite us spending over $600 in accom.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Aussieflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a nice surprise to find a reasonably priced, immaculately clean, well fitted out accommodation provider with stunning views. Staff were incredibly friendly - restaurant food and service was honest and well priced. We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Makarora is a small NZD town. They don't come much smaller. The facilities are fine and clean. The staff are friendly. Prices are sensible. If you want to soak up some small-town NZ atmosphere, especially watching rugby on a Friday night, then this is the place.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

i'msurprised at some of the negative comments below, The price is generally a guide to what you get so for $70 having a warm A-frame with linen provided and a comfortable bed met my expectations well. We stayed in early April and it was very warm at night with the duvet provided. Chairs or a sofa would be a good addition.
The kitchen and bathroom were a short stroll away. Kitchen had plenty of equipment and tables to eat at so it didn't seem overcrowded. Bathroom is a bit old but adequate
It's a great place to stay in its own right or as a stop-over between Haast and Wanaka. Surrounded by bush with walks, fishing,flights

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aqua413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews