We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a blast”
other travelers have booked this property
Tranquil setting across infinity pool to lake beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tranquil setting across infinity pool to lake beyond
Chill by the pool View from the sitting room.  At night you can hear the sea...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Tranquil setting across infinity pool to lake beyond
Chill by the pool
View from the sitting room.  At night you can hear the sea...
One of the bedrooms
One of the open- air showers
View to the lake
Peace and quiet in the courtyard
Through the front door into the peace and seclusion of the courtyard beyond
Use our tuk tuk for short trips
Ask the fisherman for fish, prawns and crab from the lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Habaraduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
561vasili...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a blast”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were two families with 3 kids each and we spent 5 days in The Lake House. The Villa was amazing and the pictures are not fair to the property which is far better. Ranga, the house manager made the stay very pleasant and adviced on places to visit. Chantura the cook, spoiled us in each meach.
We definitely want to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Difficult to reach there on foot
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR1969-07
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lakeside serenity”
Reviewed December 12, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We've just finished a week at The Lake House and it was divine. Superb cooking and wonderfully attentive staff on hand throughout the day. Stunning view over the lake from the pool and lounge. Plenty to do near by though in truth we had to force ourselves to leave the property! We'll definitely be back......!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, serenity and attentiveness of the staff
Liked least: Hard to say!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJM2005
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Couldn't be Bettered”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from idyllic 5 nights at Lake House. This met all our expectations and more. Beautiful house, amazing peaceful location and brilliant staff who looked after us superbly. Food was some of the best we had in Sri Lanka. Perfect place for chilling out after 8 days touring around island. Had lots of fun being ferried round in tuk-tuk and would recommend lake trip - but whatever you want to do, Ranga can organise. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble. Loved it and will be returning.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and beautiful location as well as excellent standard of house
Liked least: Wi-fi worked for first day only - forced us away from real world!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter K
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation in a long time”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Lake House in Koggala is conveniently located close to the train station, but the staff will be glad to help with pick-up from anywhere - even the airport in Colombo.
Pictures cannot do this precious gem justice, it was - simply put - the best vacation I can remember. From the genius architecture with built-in ventilation to the impeccable cleanliness, from seldom-seen friendliness, helpfulness and politeness of everybody around you to the amazing beaches within a short tuk-tuk ride from the house, there is not a single complaint I could file.

Southern Sri Lanka itself is definitely worth a trip, and if you are looking for a place that exceeds even the loftiest of expectations, get in touch with the people at The Lake House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewed November 3, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and customer service
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic private house set on the tranquil Koggala Lake”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was the perfect house having travelled around Sri Lanka for two weeks. A beautifully designed home with well-proportioned rooms , with its team of enthusiastic staff to look after us, from the gardener, cook to house boys and headman – whose knowledge & professionalism made our stay such a joy.
The food was some of the best during our travels, we even had a cookery lesson and ate local fish, crab, prawns brought fresh to house each day was fantastic – I miss the food!

I felt the house lends itself for you to truly relax in your own private space, one is so close to the sea but being on the lake its extremely peaceful, yet you can access Galle with all its history, restaurants and shops in a short fun tuk tuk journey, go surfing, diving, see turtles, or cycle around the lake or explore the lake with a local fishermen.

I would definitely want to return again … to relax and explore more with family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Its a beautiful house set in a stunning location - Im a early riser, each morning one of the boys brought a pot of tea to me as sat at the Lake edge watching the fishermen putting out their nets.
Liked least: The bakery van's tune .... but you hear it everywhere is Sri Lanka
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We arrived at the Lake House after a week of travelling and spent a week unwinding in the most beautiful of settings. The photographs don't capture the full beauty of The Lake House. It has the most lovely feel to it and was so comfortable. Ranga looked after us and nothing was too much trouble. He showed us the area and waited for us while we shopped in Galle and was still smiling when we finally decided we had had enough! The food was delicious - we ate crab and prawns from the lake and the curry was the best in Sri Lanka. The swimming pool was a great size and plenty of sun beds too. I highly recommend The Lake House for a holiday - we would certainly like to go back one day soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil setting on the lake
Liked least: I can't think of anything!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing